What’s in a name anyway?

                                                     “”Bobby Wayne””

 

cowboy

 

Rob, Bob, Billy Bob, Bobby Wayne and even Robert are names I have had at one time or another.

From 70’s through 90’s I was in the U.S. Army and had many nick names.

In the early days of my Army life, the pace was fast and there was not much time for names. I was called Private and that was that. There were other names also, but they were not all that nice, hey you, soldier, troop, etc. You get the idea.

When I was assigned to my first real assignment in Nah Trang, Viet Nam, there were four Roberts in the unit. I ended up being called Bob instead of Robert. The nickname stuck, not all that neat, but I had been called Rob not Bob most of my early years.

When I returned to the real world after my time in Viet Nam, I was again called Rob and Robert and things got back to normal.

After a time with the Military Police, I was back to being a Police Officer in my hometown where I was Rob again.

The Military managed to get me back to its ranks and I was back to being called Bob.

On several assignments in the South I was called Billy Bob and Bobby Wayne because of my size and my ability to blend in with the local population.

I got so used to Bobby Wayne and all that goes with that name, I bought a white Chevy Pick Up truck, a vehicle that any real Bobby Wayne would have.

I had the white Chevy truck for 15 years and the nickname Bobby Wayne stuck with me the entire time I was in Alabama.

What’s in a name anyway? We go by what we and others like.

I like Rob, Bob, Billy Bob, Bobby Wayne and even Robert; it just depends on my mood and location.

 

woohoo

 

thumbs up

 

Log in to write a note
July 12, 2004

It’s all in how you feel. Just like you said. 🙂 Just wanted to say hi. Take care.

July 12, 2004

my name is dawn… but nick name is ginger.. now don’t see the connection.. but they both fit me.. soft as the morning sun… and spicey as the ginger root.. guess that works.. lol.. best one i came up with so far.. my son is a robert..lol his dad was a robert.. they called him brother.. they live in alabama.. lmao that is rich..

one rob to another … I get it too

July 13, 2004

🙂

rae
July 13, 2004

Hey! I Drive a white pickup! and am no where near Burly. hahahahaha. My Family nickname is Nini… other than that, my three-syllable name has never been shortened. Wonder what that says about a person?

Shi
July 13, 2004

A rose by any other name…

July 13, 2004

“What’s in a name, that which we call a rose would smell as sweet.” Of course, the name only resembles what the person really is inside. It is the fragrance that exudes from a life that gives it a name worth remembering… 🙂 I do love the name Robert though… It has a special significance in my life…

Good entry. Never thought of that. Bobby Wayne….

Oh, dear. You are in such trouble now, BillyBob. 🙂 Do all Texans add “Bob” to their first names? *smiling*

Yeah, my name is Sassy Bob!