Tuesday, 2.25.2020 8:54 p.m. MST

Plain. That’s what I’ve got today.

I left my dad at the rehab center tonight. I’m ashamed to say I left because it was hard. It was sad and boring, Although, I think my dad was only out of bed because I was there. He was falling asleep in his chair, I think.

My dad is 76 years old. He weighs less than 100 lbs. He looks like he’s 90. He wears a diaper all the time. He has a broken hip. He has terminal cancer. How did this become life?

I wonder if he thinks that. I wonder if he looks around and wonders how this became his life.

I thought that maybe having my parents in Independent or Assisted Living was the best option. But those places are so sad. The rehab place is so sad. How can I think that is the best thing for my parents?

How can I not? How can I believe that they can remain on their own? They are both fall risks. They are both sick. They cannot fend for themselves anymore.

There are no easy answers.

 

Log in to write a note