too long away

So, after I caught up with all my bookmarks/friends, I finally have a little time to post a little something. Summer is just around the corner and already Buddy is out of school and I have a list of "to do’s" a mile long. We’ll see how much we can muddle through.

Buddy did alright his first year in high school with all A’s and B’s, including Gym! He’s growing into such a nice young man, just have to get him past some of the insecurities and immaturity of a typical 15 yr old, especially one with Asperger’s. He and I actually went shopping for shorts for him and he tried them on w/o complaining too much! He’s growing up!

Hubby and I didn’t really go camping this weekend after all. I went out with him on Thursday and helped him set up but couldn’t stay due to picking up Buddy from school. I got home that night and realized how much the heat affected me and knew the meds were messing with my temp controls. I told Hubby I couldn’t stand the heat and couldn’t see camping for the whole weekend in long dresses and no ac. He called me the next morning to say he wasn’t feeling too good either and he wanted to come home. I went out and helped him strike camp and we packed up and went home. So much for living in the Middle Ages for a weekend! I missed seeing a lot of people but as it turned out, the wind and smoke from a wildfire here in the state made it very unbearable for the people who actually stuck it out. I’m really glad we didn’t stay and got to spend more time together.

This Summer I plan to re-do the interior of the courtyard. The previous owner’s started paving parts of the front and back yards with pre-fab "stones" and didn’t do a good job leveling them or placing them close together. Buddy and I will start the project this week and it will probably take the better part of a few weeks to get it done. We can only work outside during the morning hours until the sun shifts and the temps get too hot. When we get done it will be a nice retreat outside and surrounded by our walls, away from the weird neighbors we have on 2 sides of us.

Buddy and I are also planning on driving up to ND to see my parents. I haven’t seen them in 3 years and my step dad is going on almost 2 years of treatment for lung cancer. He’s stage 4 since it’s in both lungs and it’s mesothelioma caused from the Navy and construction for years. The doctor is just trying to keep it from spreading anymore and keeping him healthy. He’s been through about 4 different kinds of chemo drugs and each one has different side effects. It’s been so hard on Mom but I’m her moral support, giving her advice and support from afar. It’s just so hard being so far away from them!

I also get to see my great niece and nephew!! M is 3 now and into faeries and purple and C is almost 7 months now and growing like a weed! It will be the second time to see M and the first to see C. Their momma is my niece from my "lost" sister. She and I haven’t spoken in 3+ years and I kinda like it that way. My niece has given up trying to get us to talk, just have to get my mom to accept that.

Driving to ND means I have to teach Buddy how to drive a standard! Hubby wants us to take the Mini instead of the old wagon that needs work. It should be interesting teaching Buddy how to drive the car! He’s logged several hours already in his dad’s car but both of our normal vehicles are standards and the wagon doesn’t run so we need to teach him stick. This could be a real challenge!

Here’s to hoping it will be a good Summer….

J

Log in to write a note
May 29, 2012

Whew, I definitely could not camp without AC in the summertime either! It’s nice you are getting to take a trip to visit your parents this summer. That’s going to be a long drive! But I bet it’ll be very scenic. hugs, Nicky

Prayers for your mom and stepdad. Here’s to a good summer also. 🙂

Thank you for your kind thoughts. It means a lot.

May 29, 2012

I lived in ND for 8 years..my wife is from there…

I’m hoping it’s a good summer for you, too. Three years is a long time, even though I have gone 2 years not seeing my son during a time when he was super-busy and my ex and I were short on funds. All you can do sometimes. I have a friend who does the medieval role-playing (knights and swordfights and such) and I have no idea how she wears those heavy dresses and petticoats and such, especially for the big camp-a-thon they have int the late summer. Plus, she sews the dresses. I remember her getting rained on last year and being very uncomfortable. I work with a friend who has Asperger’s, and she’s very intelligent. Is driven to do certain things and excels at them.

May 29, 2012

I’m not certain I ever would have learned to drive a stick shift except I got myself in a corner in a parking lot and had to back up. I was tentative and unsure about backing up–heck I was just learning to drive! As a result, I was very gentle in easing the clutch out and PRESTO! I got the feel of when to apply the gas and let off the clutch at the same time and it has been smooth sailing every since! I would likely be jerking my way around in a stick shift vehicle to this day but not for that!

May 30, 2012

Your dear mom is still in my prayers. RYN: Thanks a lot for this very awesome note. Have a super Wednesday!

May 30, 2012

its too hot in the summer to go camping. i want fans, a/c something to keep me cool. prayers for your mom and stepdad. i learned to drive a stick but now am very glad i have an automatic. take care,

June 1, 2012

Thanks a lot for your awesome note. Have a great Friday and a superb weekend!