Another cold winter day

Nothing much interesting to relate this evening, but I want to try to get back in the habit of journaling.

I did some volunteer work today at church, and had a conversation with a good friend.  She’s thrilled because she’s had some improvement in her knee surgery, which was over a year ago, and she’s had so much disappointment over the pain and swelling she’s still dealing with.  I’m so happy for her.

Watching an episode of My 600 Pound Life, and always marvel at how people get to be THAT large.  This poor woman was over 700 pounds when the show began, and totally immobile in her bed.  But I look at myself and think I’m not much better, not being able to lose any weight and keep it off.  I’m far from 700 (or 600) pounds, and I’m not immobile, but I’m essentially no different than they are.  Monday I’m beginning a program designed to educate you about diabetes (which I don’t have either – yet) and is supposed to help you lose some weight.  We’ll see.

I need to get a new manicure as the color is growing out on the bed of my nails.  I only recently began getting them, and I’m amazed at the difference in doing them myself.  The color stays perfect with no chips for about a month – amazing!

I think I will bake some cookies tomorrow, to take to my son’s house on Friday.  I have an early meeting in their town on Saturday, so I’m going to stay at their home Friday night and have a visit.  They only live about an hour away from me, but their lives are so busy I hate to be in their town and NOT see them.  But if I wait till after the meeting, they will be off doing something.  And I’ll want to go home by then anyway!  So I’ll get the kids off the bus, and give them dinner before my grandson has basketball practice (my son will take him), and stay with my granddaughter till her mom gets home from work.  I ordered a book of old-fashioned Valentines from Amazon, so I will take them, and maybe we can make some cards together.

Stir fry for dinner this evening, with chicken, veggies, and some rice.  I guess journaling every day consists of telling about your day, exciting or not.

Log in to write a note
February 1, 2018

We had nice weather last month. It felt like spring was in the air, but today it’s cold and we may get snow this weekend and also next week, winter will be back. So, you are doing the same as I do when I am with my son when he is nog yet home. He lives also a one hour drive from us.

February 1, 2018

Edelweis, would like to look at your diary, but I don’t have access to it. I think it’s because I’m presently not a paid member. Thank you for dropping in and leaving a note!