Hello, Open Diary

 

 

Well…..I never thought I would be back in this diary.  I re-read my final entry and all the sorrow I felt at OD closing came back to me.

As I said, I wasn’t a faithful writer here for quite a long time, and yet at one time this diary (and a previous one on another defunct diary site) were my lifeblood.  The earlier one, more so.  I was at a major turning point in my life and I used that early diary to work out  my thoughts.  I wanted to begin a totally new diary here, but I can’t seem to figure that out (at least while the diary is supposedly still loading).  I’m thankful though, that I apparently made my entire diary private, so the only public entry is my final one.  Good enough I suppose, although I’d like to change the whole diary name too.

I guess I’ll use the 30 day free period to see whether I really want to take up journaling again.  I was so inconsistent for a long time that I don’t want to pay for it unless I prove to myself that I’m going to be a regular again.

I wonder what I actually have to write about.  I’m 4 years older (wow, almost to the day, as my last entry was February 1, 2014).  Fatter, and have more aches and pains that just don’t go away.  Right after Christmas I got a severe cold.  I coughed so much with it that I hurt my back.  I remember thinking, “If this is what REALLY old people feel like all the time, just put me in a box right now!”

And yet I’m pretty content with my life right now.  I’ve been retired almost two years now, and my husband for almost a full year.  I was so worried about him being home during the day, but he has more activities than I do!  It’s a little rough during these winter months, being cooped up in the house together.  But we try to stay busy at things and out of each other’s way for at least part of the day.  I miss him when he stays away for a few days, hunting, but I’m also glad for the time by myself.  I spend too much time online, but ironically, I’ve made some of my best friends online.

It’s very cold here today, and snow keeps falling intermittently.  It’s pretty though.  I love seeing the birds at the feeder outside. This would be a day I’d normally be cooking some kind of comfort food….beef stew, chili, a roast chicken, whatever.  But my husband wants a salad.  We are both too heavy and we do need to start somewhere, show some restraint.  So I’ll dutifully prepare dinner salads for us, with tuna, hard cooked eggs, some cheese.  Maybe some sliced avocado which I meant to have for lunch today and forgot about.  Ha.  My old friend Sally (now deceased) and I used to say, “If you have nothing to journal about, then tell what you made for dinner.”  That’s as good a way to begin again here as any.

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2018

Welcome back, it’s good to have you here!

January 30, 2018

Love it! I had a tough time reading my last few entries but life goes on and life changes…

January 31, 2018

Perhaps there is a whole new adventure in writing ahead for you here. 😊

January 31, 2018

That’s a great writing prompt, I’m all about food. If you need more writing prompts, the DM has been giving out “Theme of the Week” suggestions. You can find them by back reading through his diary or if you see the hashtag on anyone else’s diary, click it. They would look like this:

#TOTW #TOTW1 #TOTW2 …etc.

Also, check out the Diary Circles (in the main drop-down menu). There are a lot of great topics to contribute to.

Hope that helps. And welcome back!