The sweet boy

I had such a lovely time at  my son’s house Friday evening.  I picked up the kid’s at their bus top, and it was so nice to have my granddaughter K coming running off the bus smiling at me!  And give me a big hug.  And then my grandson N ran off to me too.  He and another friend were cooking up a plan to play video games at N’s house, so I said the boy could come over until 5 p.m. when I had to make sure N had dinner because of basketball practice.

I don’t know N’s limits walking around the neighborhood (he’s only 9), so I was a little leery of the two boys going to pick up a video controller and to pick up another boy.  I told N to not stay long.  I was looking out the window at them walking, and asked K if she knew where the other boys lived.  She said “I’ll draw you a map.”  The map consisted of a piece of construction paper with a house in one corner, and a house in the opposite corner, and a line in between.  Perfectly clear, haha!  Well, they came back in about 15 minutes.  And I found out later that N IS allowed to walk to the other kids houses.  Would be good to get that all cleared up before the next time I babysit.

Had fun playing word games with K while the boys played video games, and we made Valentines after dinner, and we were alone until her mother came home from work.  I even got a workout with both kids after dinner, and before N went to basketball.  They were playing “Just Dance” on Wii, and we jumped around to Cotton Eye Joe.  It was fun!  Wish I had one myself.

Every time I stay overnight, N always asks me, “Will you sleep with me?”  I always say “No, but I’ll lay in bed with you awhile and we’ll talk.”  That is the nicest time for me.  He really IS the sweetest boy.  And I know it won’t last forever, so I treasure getting to spend those few moments with him.  We just lay there and talk about things, laugh about stuff, and just enjoy that nice time before he sleeps.  Because of their busy lives, I only see their family about once a month.  Who knows?  As quickly as children change, he may not want to the next time I sleep over.  I wonder when he’ll begin to change, and not enjoy his grandmother’s company any more.  Or maybe it’s different with grand kids…maybe they share confidentialities longer with grandparents.  All I know is, he does my heart good.  His father and I were close that way, a long time ago.  It was lovely, because I think for a little while, he (my son) looked at me as sort of a “girlfriend”…..he thought I was pretty and he’d ask me to wear a pretty outfit to visit the school on parents’ night.  Of course he grew out of that (thank God!), but we always did remain close.  That shifted somewhat as he matured, went through college, found his “girl”, found work, and then married.  We’re still close, but of course not that “little boy” closeness anymore.  It’s sweet to experience it again with his little boy.

I know it won’t last forever, but oh, it’s lovely to be loved by a sweet little boy again.

Log in to write a note

Hi Kathleen!!  or JustCatherine 🙂  Great to see you here and thank you for finding me. 🙂  Do you have any idea how to add someone as a friend?

Ah…it looks like our friends list from previously is still intact!!!