Bitten By Midges

#TOTW85 – If I Could Relive One Event In My Life It Would Be:

The day I was Bitten By Midges.

It was Saturday morning and I was free to do whatever I wanted. I was at the point in my life where I just had myself to love and few bottles of my favorite scotch.

Now that you know a little bit about me, stay with me.

Two weeks earlier… 

I made plans to go on a hiking trip with The Boys.

The Boys all had a 9-5, regardless of the different positions they held in their various cooperation, it was a 9-5.

Since I was the only free butterfly in the garden, I had to wait till whenever they were disposed.

Fast forward to this faithful Saturday, I got a call, it was 4:43AM.

“Hello,

We are doing it, today, get ready and meet The Boys at the rendezvous point. Be here before 5:15AM.”

(Click!)

I was both excited and reluctant, reluctant giving I’ve had a few glasses(try to keep up).

So we met up at the spot, exchanged pleasantries.

The hiking started…

We were on the long walk/climbing when we had to stop somewhere to have a few beers. Spent few hours jollying and talking about random stuff.

The hike was mostly like this:  walking; climbing; jollying.

Just as you all know, sometimes good things don’t last, maybe most of the time, maybe less, but you get the point.

What I’m trying to say is, it was dusk. We couldn’t leave now, we kind of had everything we needed for camping, we might as well spend the night. But it was freezing and there were midges, a whole lot.

We all had a terrible night that night. Somewhat tipsy, but unable to sleep, the midges had the best of our skin.

I wished I had spent that Saturday at home rather than going on an impromptu hike.

But I needed that hike, I lost my wife few years earlier, and moving on wasn’t an option, even though it was, I couldn’t pick it. So if you can’t pick an option, I guess it isn’t one.

We endured the night, me more so. Enduring it made me miss her more.

Here I was trying to get away from the feeling, instead I fell deeper, drowning in the river of my own thoughts.

Then I realized some feelings don’t just go away, but are meant to be with you forever. Learn to grow with it, and learn from it.

So you don’t pay a price for something that isn’t being sold…

I could go on and on, but I guess you get the whole point of the story.

Sincerely,

Kacper Hubert.

#2021 #Writings #Newyear #Selfimage #Journal

#TOTW85

Log in to write a note
January 2, 2021

Wow! the story took another direction awesome

January 2, 2021

@willz I bet it did 😁

It wasn’t intentional 😁

Thank you.

Ooo.. noseeums are the worst!!!

January 2, 2021

@zombieinfusedtea Yes they are. It was terrible, but I learnt a bit of life’s lesson, so…

@kacper-hubert Get the OFF stuff. When I was up north in the Muskokas there were a LOT of noseeums and I wore a bug net? HIGHLY uncomfortable. 🙁

January 3, 2021

@zombieinfusedtea Wow that must have been awful. I don’t think I can ever try a bug net. Anyway, at least you were free from their torment. 😁

@kacper-hubert I’d rather slap at them than wear that bloody net.

January 4, 2021

@zombieinfusedtea Hahaha… So you’re Canadian?

@kacper-hubert Aye Kacper, that I am.

January 4, 2021

@zombieinfusedtea Nice to meet you…

@kacper-hubert no no no no  I Sammy, you Tarzan lol joking lol

January 6, 2021
January 2, 2021

Wow! That was some hike

January 3, 2021

@mermycohea I know right 🙂

January 7, 2021

I love the way you write.  I love that you loved your wife so much that “moving on is not an option”.  I am not sure what midges are, but exciting read nonetheless.  Thank you for the smile.

January 13, 2021

@kimber_1 Thanks for the compliment. I’m sorry I’m just seeing this comment today, weird how opendiary works…

Midges are sandflies.

I’m glad it put a smile 😃 on your face.

January 11, 2021

72 years old and I never heard of a midge.  So the hike wasn’t like a walk in the park, huh?  Found you on the Twotw85  😎

January 11, 2021

@tracker2020 You should google it sometime. And I hope you get to 73 😁

January 12, 2021

@kacper-hubert   I have to wait until New Year’s Eve rolls around again.  Yeah I already googled midges.  The photos were like yikes!  It said they swarm in huge numbers.  I am in the desert so not a lot of water to attract them.  Now we have cicada bugs which are u-g-l-y and so noisy they can keep you awake at night.  😎

January 12, 2021

@tracker2020 Cicadas are way bigger. Much bigger than flies. Midges are so tiny, you might not even see them.

So do cicadas bite as well? Wow they could keep you up at night, that noisy? 😅

January 12, 2021

@kacper-hubert No they don’t bite.  They don’t have jaws or jaw bones.  Their sound is a sustained buzzing sound at just a higher level than my ear likes.  😎