A little scare…

I had lost my glasses after a tumultuous night, and I couldn’t find them when I awoke… checked everywhere.. underneath the pillows, underneath the duvet, under the wedge. I back tracked to where my laundry sat awaiting, and sure enough, there they were hanging onto the bag by the arms. Stupid glasses! 🙁 Stupid me too… 😛 

I have a q for y’all, what are the flowers depicted above? Not lily of the valley, like I thought, Bees thought they were bleeding hearts. IDK. Any avid green thumbs out there?

I’m sitting here, drinking water and ignoring my bad back… it’s grouchy bc I was on the floor looking for my glasses.

I am waiting for breakfast, I’m starving… I will do my insulin now…

Ciao!

Sammy

Log in to write a note
June 7, 2021

Not sure what they are, but they sure are pretty.

June 7, 2021

@justholli1972 Yes, that they are.

June 7, 2021

It’s Solomon’s Seal. Keep an eye on it through the summer for the berries

June 7, 2021

@elkay Why are the berries edible?? This is new to me.

June 8, 2021

@kartoffeltorte Not edible but since they’re under the leaves, they’re easily missed.

June 8, 2021

@elkay Hm.. ok 🙂

June 7, 2021

I thought those were Lillies of the valley. They’re so pretty and delicate! Glad you found your glasses. My husband thinks I should wear them on a chain around my neck because I’m always losing mine.

June 7, 2021

@darkmadonna I need them on a chain too. 🙂

June 7, 2021

“Solomon’s seal is a classic shade garden plant that adds an architectural component to garden beds, thanks to its arching stems. In spring, these stems become lined with small, bell-shape, white blooms on the undersides. These blossoms later give way to bluish black berries that are adored by wildlife. The spreading and clumping habit of this plant makes it a great groundcover for shady spots.”  It’s lovely — I knew it wasn’t lily of the valley — arching stems at wrong angle & the green around the mouth of the bells.  I’m going to see if I can find some for my yard!

“a tumultuous night”?  I hope it was enjoyable …

June 7, 2021

@ghostdancer TY for your insight GD. 🙂 What kind of wildlife? 🙂

June 8, 2021

@kartoffeltorte The flowers of Solomon’s Seal are popular with hummingbirds and insects, the insects in turn attract insectivorous birds. The Veery is one of many birds known to eat Solomon’s Seal berries, which mature in fall.
Birds Most Commonly Attracted to Solomon’s Seal

American Robin
Eastern Bluebird
Hermit Thrush
Insectivorous Birds
Ruby-Throated Hummingbird
Veery
Wood Thrush

and: “The berries of False Solomon’s seal are reportedly edible and also are red according to some other sources.  [author has] not seen the red berries — probably because the wildlife eats them before they get to that stage.

No mention of what wildlife.  I presume bears, who generally love berries. Can[‘t think of any other animal who does & the article didn’t say.

June 8, 2021

@ghostdancer Oy! Bears? Maybe that is why there was a sighting awhile back of a black bear.

June 7, 2021

nice flowers

June 7, 2021

@ihavenoarms Yeah Ikr?