grace

i was on my way to Bethlehem

a rag top chevy and a drivers tan.

along the way way i met a homeless man,

asking for a helping hand

dropped him off in a one road town

as the summer sun was going down.

i lost my way to where i was bound,

didnt know if i could be found.

i must have driven for forty years.

through a storm of broken dreams and tears.

in the end i found myself right here,

a promiced land filled with childish fear.

 

but for the grace i stand and fall

and should i fail, i’ll keep it all.

but for the grace till my time has come

i’ll stay right here till i find the sun.

 

i was on my way to Bethlehem,

beg borrow steal that who i am.

and i remember that homeless man

askin me for a helping hand.

 

but for the grace i stand and fall

and should i fail, i’ll keep it all.

but for the grace till my time has come

i’ll stay right here till i find the sun.

 

rag top chevy and a drivers tan,

on the road doin the best i can.

i hope one day to find that homeless man,

and together we’ll find Bethlehem…

 

Log in to write a note
September 21, 2019

Is it okay if I walk beside you?  I would love to go there too….

September 23, 2019

this is not my favorite work…

I may take it down and rework it a bit…