Duet

"To keep you Bajorans thinking of yourselves as victims. To keep you afraid… and helpless.

 

I seem to have something of a case of mistaken identity going on.

Not for the first time, I am guilty of totally spilling my guts on the semi-public forum Spacebook1. I had foolishly assumed that I was among friends only, so it was a no-holds-barred account of what was going on with me and exactly how I felt about it.  Thinking about it now, perhaps it wasn’t pretty. But on the whole all my contacts were supportive and kind.

However, one of my closest contacts (a young Cardassian lady who works on the station – serving in Quark’s bar) seems to have been reading, misinterpreting, and convinced that all my anger was aimed at her. In fact, it was nothing of the sort. I had always known that, being Cardassian, she couldn’t help the way she was – she tended to bully and say unkind / insensitive things, but I never took it personally, I just let it slip by because I knew her.  But because she and her husband (who also works at Quark’s) had been reading my logs for five weeks believing I was getting at them, their anger has been building up. During the week the two of them totally let rip about what they thought about me, with gloves off in the most cruelly wounding way.

I’ve tried really hard not to be judgemental, I try not to make assumptions about people. I try to not only hope for the best and give people the benefit of doubt, even if they are Cardassian, but this abusive attack (because, thinking about it, there’s no other way to view the way they’ve spoken to me) just proves to me that I need to be much more careful about who I trust, and I must definitely be careful not to allow myself to get into the position of being in another lopsided relationship where the other party assumes they can push me around and say whatever they like regardless of my feelings.

 

1 Editor’s note: I wasn’t surprised to discover that there really is a Spacebook, but it is oh so very boring! Not at all what you might expect it to be! If you’re looking for a Star Trek themed facebook alternative, try TrekSpace on Ning: http://trekspace.ning.com/

Log in to write a note
December 5, 2010