I am officially a homeowner!

Closed on the house today and got my keys! I can move in as early as tomorrow. Which is nice because they’re closing off routes to my parents house due to expected flooding, so if I get trapped at least I have a place to stay without feeling like I’m being an inconvenience. Though, it’s going to be a minute before we move any of our furniture over there so sleeping in an empty house all by myself will be a bit unsettling.

When I went to pick up the keys from the original owner, she teared up a little and it almost broke my heart enough to let her keep the house. It makes me wonder if I will get attached to this place like she did. It had been her home for over fifteen years, she got married in that house, had a child there, saw her husband off to active duty there. I can only imagine what kind of memories that place holds for her, not to mention it was the first house she ever owned. I’m thankful for her though, for her patience and for just being there. This house is perfect. It’s a good size, has a decent fenced in back yard for the dogs, it’s in a great neighborhood, top of the line security system is installed, and she kept it in such great shape. I’m so happy we stumbled across her post, we were almost ready to give up.

Not much to report other than that. Got the leak in the ceiling at the salon fixed. All my clients were well behaved and gave me no issues. Feeling optimistic now for the weekend.

Goodnight ❤️

Log in to write a note
September 22, 2018

Congratulations on getting your first home. That house does sound like it’s perfect for you.

I’m so excited for the day, when it’s finally my turn. I’ll probably be looking at some apartments first, though, when boyfriend and I finally get our finances in order.

September 22, 2018

Congrats, it must be so exciting. All the best to you especially in your new home.