What a day

Y’all

So after the recent storm we have had a lot of calls and appointments, as we knew we would. Tropical storm with flooding means dogs are gonna get dirty and be in need of grooming, not to mention we have a lot of people who evacuated staying in our neck of the woods. Had two clients want to come in at the same time, both are regulars and typically in good shape so I didn’t think there would be any time issue, boy was I wrong. My first dog was incredibly matted, how I was able to get anything other than a surgical blade through is a miracle to me. But because the dog is well behaved and I like the owners I worked my magic with little complaint. Thought everything was going well until my third client walked in and I hadn’t even started my second, knew I was in trouble. It had taken me over an hour and a half just to get the matting off the first dog enough to get it in the bath (little FYI if your dog is matted the WORST  thing you can do is bathe it while it’s matted, causes them to get thicker and deeper to the skin). Had to kick it into overdrive at this point and try not to let myself get stressed out because I’m in the wrong business to be getting stressed, my emotions effect my clients emotions. Got the first dog and the second dog done two hours after my third client showed up, not even a little ideal. I try to keep my grooms between 2-3 hours so parents don’t have to wait and dogs won’t get stressed out. Obviously this time varies based on the size, hair length, and condition the dog is in.  My third dog was, guess what, matted. Took longer than normal to do her, she’s a standard poodle and she is by far one of my favorite clients and she loves being back there. Not even close to being done with her my fourth dog comes in (the ONLY one who was not matted) and then after checking her in my last two clients came in early and I still hadn’t finished my third dog. So even if the stars had aligned in a way where that was the only thing to go wrong today i was in a little over my head, but it wouldn’t be my life if it wasn’t a complete disaster so of course the computers wanted to shut down AND our salon ceiling is leaking and that leak is growing at an alarming rate. Doubtful we will even be able to operate tomorrow. Then I finally get a chance to sit down and do reminder calls for the weekend and one lady mistakes me as her doctors office and after about ten minutes of miscommunication she canceled her appointment. There’s also a lot going on outside of my salon on the sales floor side that’s driving me crazy but I won’t go into that now. Oh, and my last dog bit the mess out of me twice.

As I’m finally ready to leave an hour and a half after I was scheduled to be off a customer from the aquatics department catches me. He’s a super friendly guy, believe me, but today was not the day that I wanted to just sit around and chat after work, I wanted to go home and die. But he had my back when a strange guy approached us wanting to use our phones and he said he wanted to keep me safe so I appreciate that a lot. Just would have been nicer to go home after I clocked out than stand awkwardly in the parking lot for an hour talking to someone I don’t really know.

Because of how stressful today was I didn’t get to see my boyfriend, but thankfully he understood I just needed to come home and relax.

Signed off on all my paperwork for home owners insurance, one step closer to becoming a homeowner. Tomorrow we officially close and will be able to start slowly moving in. I’ll be a hell of a lot closer to work and I’m so excited for some extra sleep in the morning. Where I’m at now I’m driving about 45 minutes to and from, meaning I have to leave an hour before I’m scheduled to avoid bad traffic and then wake up an hour and a half before I have to leave to get ready. I’m always tired. Now I’m only a ten minute drive away.

Hope no one takes offense to me venting about work, please know that I truly do love and care about each and every dog that comes into our salon, even the ones that aren’t my clients. Even the aggressive dogs who try to kill me.

I don’t know how to upload pictures here on my phone or else I would show you guys some pics of my grooms and what not.

Anyway, hope everyone had a day better than mine.

Log in to write a note