Oh, No! It’s May Already!

Normally I would be glad that it is finally May, with spring finally here, everything turning green and blooming, sitting on the deck, being able to go outside without a coat, etc. However, the last day of Pre-School is the 17th and the last day of Elementary School is the 23rd. I’m going to miss the little ones at Pre-School and picking up the grands at the Elementary. At least the grands live less than 2 blocks away so I can see them during the summer.

The stressful part of May is that I am the sole host for our Family Reunion. We have people coming from Oklahoma, California and Louisiana. We had about 75-100 last year and I am expecting more this year. We have been having Family Reunions on the same date, at the same place for over 30 years. I did the planning and hosting last year also and wasn’t going to this year but we ran into a small problem with the one that is supposed to host it this year. It was extremely stressful last year because I hadn’t hosted one in about 20 years. It should be easier this year since I know what worked and what didn’t work last year. It’s just a lot of work! My neice and a cousin have offered to help but they both live so far away, one in Louisiana so it’s almost more trouble to try to work together than just do it myself.

I am planning games for the adults and a table for the kids to make pictures and cards, a puppet theatre, dress up clothes.  There will be a photo booth inside and games for the kids outside. I’m considering a time capsule to be opened in 2020.

Our Smith ancestors came over here from England 200 years ago and the homestead and church they built are still standing and still used. They’re both in Indiana. The 200th reunion will be there in July. So I want to put out a lot of my genealogy research and pictures. That, in itself, will be a lot of work. Oh well, if I didn’t enjoy doing it, I wouldn’t do it.

Don had his 71st birthday yesterday. During his sister’s music program I slipped the grandson a kit that I made up for him and his sister to make Don birthday cards. They did a spectacular job, making cards with Don’s favorite things, fishing and military tanks (he was a tanker in the Marines and retired from the Army as a Sergeant Major)  Don’s daughter, Mikki brought the kids over and they gave him the cards and their school pictures. Today they sent cookies to him that they had baked. I got him a birdfeeder that looks like a western saloon and some baseball cupcakes. He spends all his time watching westerns and baseball!

Don had a rough week so the birthday surprises helped. His Urologist turned his case over to a Onocologist and the first appointment was Thursday. We really liked the doctor but the news not so much. The cancer has spread, they just aren’t sure how far and how advanced it is. They did a CT scan but weren’t able to see anything. The doctor explained that the cancer cells are microscopic so difficult to see. Don has already had two sessions of radiation so surgery isn’t recommended. This is because of the damage radiation has already done to the area.  The doctor said it would be a long, tough recovery if he would recover at all.  So Don will continue hormone and medicinal treatment as well as quarterly injections in his stomach for the rest of his life. They were unable to give us any idea of how much time he has. I don’t think they really know at this point. He will also have to go to Wichita for lab work each month. He is taking it better than I am!

Well, it’s past my bedtime and I have church tomorrow so I will say ciao for now!

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 6, 2018

Well, that just stinks. I’m so sorry you guys have to go through this.

May 6, 2018

What terrible news and on his birthday week.  He and I are the same age.  Hope he feels OK and is able to enjoy life with you.

 

May 6, 2018

We used to go to family reunions every Memorial Day weekend down in W.Virginia on my Mom’s side of the family, but she passed away going on three years now and she was the last of 12 siblings. Sadly, none of the cousins picked up where my uncles left off…no reunions since.

 

Sorry to hear the sad news with the cancer……HUGS

May 6, 2018

Bill was declared terminal with 3 months to live in 1992.  They can’t say. They have no right to say.

BJ.
May 8, 2018

So sorry about Don’s cancer.  Hugs, will be thinking of you both.