the long haul

I came into this fall without much in the way of reserves, tired, worn out and grieving and dd has a much busier schedule than we have ever had.  I spend a lot of time each week getting her to her dance classes.  We sold our van 3 years ago so I am used to it but this fall I am finding it quite a chore all the extra hours spent trekking around.

Grieving is a long process, it’s been 5 months since my father died and some days the grief (and anger too about so many things) just sneaks up and catches me by surprise.  I don’t cry nearly as often now and rarely is there something that makes me cry in public, during the summer I cried so much and in public too far too often.

I am still knitting the same hat I started back before my dad went into the hospital.  I wanted a long term easy project and I got that.  I am starting to be interested in other projects too and wanting to knit other things, mostly more hats but maybe socks too.  I found 6 skeins of kroy sock yarn at Value Village, $3.99 for all six:)  They are a rather plain light grey but so what.  My oldest son and his partner sent me some fabulous noro yarn as a birthday present, I think it’s this colour:

http://www.jimmybeanswool.com/knitting/yarn/Noro/Odori.asp?showLarge=true&specPCVID=30270

and I currently plan to knit this hat (for me) with it:)

Anemone Hats

It must be the right hat for me because just looking at pictures of it caused my teen daughter to beg me not to wear "THAT" in public (or at least not when out with her).

Log in to write a note
October 28, 2012

That’s a good yardstick to measure it by. With a smile…