Revelations

1.  It’s better to have a friend not only willing to, but who actually requests standing in the rain to talk, rather than someone who only ever argues.

2.  It’s better to talk out what you’re feeling rather than make premature assumptions about someone’s character and then have the nerve to not believe the person when they tell you you’re wrong.

3.  It’s better to know you can give a friend a hand, or a break, or just a few hours to themselves, rather than saying, ‘Oh, I wish I could help,’ yet doing nothing.

4.  It’s better to put your negative energy into creating something, rather than letting it consume you, paralyzing you from everything.

5.  It’s good to remember.  Not so good to wallow.

6.  It’s good to remember who’s been there for you in life; who is there; and who was never really there in the first place.

Yeah, so I wanted to write up a whole bunch of these, but they’re starting to sound like inspirational things you’d see in Hallmark cards, or those little wallet cards or something.

Life is good right now.  Yesterday, Kevin, Conor, Joe, and I worked until closing, and then Kevin, Conor, and I spent some time playing Yugi.  Conor left after a few games, and Kevin and I played until about twenty after midnight.  Then, we were out in his car talking until almost 1:30!  It was kinda nice, too.  It was raining, and normally, I don’t mind that, I love summer rain, but it was coming down pretty hard, I was getting soaked, so I said I was dropping my bag in my car, I’d be right back, and could I sit in his passenger side?  He said okay, and cleared the stuff from it as I came back and opened the door after grabbing a jacket that was still, blissfully, in my backseat.

So, we were sitting there talking about music and stuff, he made some kinda joke about my age or something, which made me lightly swat his arm, and I realized he was warm.  June, and my hands were freezing.  WTF?  It’s freakin’ JUNE!!!  So I pulled his sleeve up a bit higher and put my fingers against his arm to warm them up.

He looked up some songs for me on YouTube on his phone, including a couple by Daft Punk, which were interesting.  He also had a CD with Dragon Force on it, which was pretty cool.

Hopefully, we’re hanging out this coming week, so I wanna suggest that he and I do what Ryan and I used to, which was we’d both have our music with us, one of us would start, and we’d play a song for the other, then alternate off, him playing one, me playing one, and so on.  Kevin and I obviously have different tastes in music, but there’s definitely some (and sometimes surprising!) overlap, so I think it’d be interesting.  Movies, too.  I’d love to do that with movies with him.

Log in to write a note