29 going on… 37? Apparently.

 
It seems I am not aging as gracefully as I thought. The dermatologist assumed I was 37 today. I don’t know how that happened. Sam and Inez assured me I don’t look 37, but my skin has had a rough year, so maybe?

My mom caught Influenza in India. It took a couple of weeks, but she began to recover. Now her left eye is ‘paralyzed’. She can’t move it, but she can see from it, so it’s causing her to see double. She has seen an Ophthalmologist who believes it’s weakness caused by the Influenza. She also has a stomach bug now, and thats not helping. She’s having an MRI on the 17th of February to eliminate some serious possibilities, and she’s waiting to hear back from a Neuro-Ophthalmologist to make sure it’s not a problem with the Optic Nerve. Thank you OHIP and Universal healthcare for looking after my Momma 🙂

She seems down, but I can imagine it’s not easy. The Ophthalmologist thinks its weakness from the influenza, and it should correct itself within three months. I told her to let me know if she needs me home before March, I’d be happy to come home and help her out!

I saw the Dermatologist today. He doesn’t think my eczema is any cause for concern. What he could see is post inflammation, and actually today I have had zero single hives also. He gave me a steroid cream and a non steroid cream, in case of a flare up but he’s sure until hayfever season I should be smooth sailing.

I’m trying to improve my immune system in general, so I’m doing a 7 day juice fast starting on Monday. I’m in my three day prep stage now, so that hopefully I will have less negative effects of the juice fast. It does mean giving up coffee though. Weed, no problem… but sweet, sweet coffee… she’s going to be a tough one!!

I got a box of yarn in the mail yesterday, and I’m going to go work on some Scraf Baby stuff… enjoy your weekend OD’ers! 

Log in to write a note
January 24, 2014

OMG…NOT 37?!?!? *lol* Sorry, had to razz ya, as I’m 37, and ya made me feel older. 😉 Thankfully most people guess me in my late 20’s still… Sorry to hear about your mother, that must be terrible having to deal with that.

January 24, 2014

I need to get my butt to the dermatologist. I’m 26 and have never been and in the last year or so I’ve noticed significant changes in the skin on my face. Not good. Quitting smoking is my first step – and more water. Sorry to hear about your mother. Hope everything gets sorted out.