blinked in/ e*

Just been told that i really should be on linked in and it would do the business in terms of the business. However, i spent most of the 5 minutes blinking and going “what?” in my head. Luckily only 3 people in the room actually admitted to knowing what on earth it was.

Are any of you on linked in and actually know what on earth it is? alledgedly you can meet 7000 people in one day or something.

I guess this is like twitter which i don’t get or understand either. the twitterverse just seems to be people talking about how much jam they had on their crumpet and that Stephen Fry has a tummy ache. ~scratches head~

erm.

Guess i need to actually look at it properly.

waking up at 5am has its disadvatages. So do bank holidays. like the fact that i’ve just realised that it is actually Friday not Thursday.

nerk.

Log in to write a note
May 29, 2009

I’ve been waiting for Friday for what feels like eternty this week!! lol Wtf is bliked in??!! lol Twitter is so a fad, et you this time next yr it won’t be aroud anymore.. lol

May 29, 2009

I’ve never heard of it. Not got into Twitter yet either, just another thing to distract me from normal life! =D How are you? xx

May 29, 2009

I haven’t gotten into Twitter. No intention to either!

May 29, 2009

I’ve got into twitter. I find it useful to get newsfeeds and get a feeling for what is happening and for good jokes! LinkedIn – I’ve heard it described as facebook for grown ups who are seeking to improve their careers. I’m not on it but I suppose for business development is brilliant.

May 30, 2009

I didn’t understand Twitter until I got into it. Now I am a queen bitch on Twitter… It’s like a random thought-o-meter. xx

May 31, 2009

RYN: One dress was on a £10 rail but no idea why the other one was so cheap! I was gonna do that but there was nowhere to sit the camera =( xx

May 31, 2009

RYN: Well, it’s shown on Irish TV (TV3) as well. But we have Sky, so we have most UK channels plus movies and Sky Sports :o)

May 31, 2009

What’s blinked in? Does it have to do with Weeping Angels?

May 31, 2009

I know LinkedIn! Only cos I also was told to join, and did, and then I checked to see if anyone I knew was on it and there was only one guy that I don’t like…..so that was the end of my LinkedIn experiment. It’s more for professional go getter types than your average Joe. Another one is Viadeo, although that mostly has French people on it. How did your twittering go?

May 31, 2009

I will. There are some really fabulous ones where the hair is ruined and the face is wrong. Will do later…ta. x

May 31, 2009

RYN: Done it. I’ve put 2 up (one not so bad, the other terrible). There are worse ones. Such a shame, because there are loads and they could be lovely.

May 31, 2009

That’s amazing! Thanks for doing that…you’re good!

June 1, 2009

Yeah – I do think you can get overwhelmed by these. Christ, whatever happened to picking up the phone and actually TALKING to someone? Anyway here’s the lowdown on LinkedIn – it trawls thru your address book and CV and hunts down everyone you might conceiveably know and tells them “Hey LeadingTarget is on LinkedIn – connect with him” and then you can exchange emails on their system (this bit is entirely pointless unless you happen to have lost touch with staggeringly useful people during your career. Next it allows you to connect with other people via groups (again I don’t really get why you would talk on their forum rather than another one). And it also allows you to become an “expert” by answering questions and gaining quodos in the business arena. However it fails to divide it by country or industry so you generally have really crap interactions with people. Twitter is still an enigma to me – I’ll update my Guide To Twitiquette when I actually understand more than 2% of it.

June 1, 2009

I hate bank holidays!!!!

June 1, 2009

RYN: Why would he run? Cos he’s a man. They do that sometimes. And I have not known him for very long. Burning is better than being hit by a stick? :S

June 2, 2009

RYN: Thank you! Same to you: Gorgonzola! (That’s Russian for…your health!)

June 2, 2009

thanks for your notes…. I have no idea what being linked in is either…random! What do you do?

June 2, 2009

thanks H :-0).

June 2, 2009

ryn: Okay, please tell me how many Chalfonts there actually are! And why they are all named that.

June 3, 2009

Now how come you get invited to weddings in pink castles and I merely get invited to ones where there is chicken-or-salmon vol au vents???

June 3, 2009

Forgot about that one cheers, was good not the same impact as ER.