Breathing Okay

One thing’s for sure, I’ve got a decent cold and I’m still breathing okay.  I can definitely tell the difference in surgery 🙂  It’s not a nasty cold, but it’s annoying enough and causing enough issues that I stayed home from work today.  Not to mention I’m coughing and getting a sore throat – not a good combination when you talk on the phones all day.  I’ve taken some meds now to help cut down on the coughing so I can sleep tonight, so we’ll see.  Right now my cough leaves me with a burning sore throat, something I’d like to avoid.  My mom’s thinking of making sugar cookies or cremes tomorrow after she goes grocery shopping. The other thing is that my brothers get home from college late Sunday night.  I won’t actually see them until I get home from work on Monday, as I won’t be staying up until they get home on Sunday night and they won’t be up when I leave for work on Monday.

The other thing is that the weather guys are watching a possible snowstorm for Christmas Eve Day into Christmas Day. Given that my parents and I already have those days off, mostly it’ll mean making sure all our Christmas shopping is done prior to Christmas Eve.  Right now they’re talking 5-11 inches of snow out of the system, but it’s too early to know for sure.  That would be on top of all our snow from the storm earlier in the month, as that snow is all still here (though compacted at this point).  I always like getting new snow on Christmas Eve. 

In terms of my own Christmas shopping, I still have some to do.  Since we all got jobs, we each get a present for each other for under the tree and then something for their stockings.  Right now I’ve bought Stephen’s, Mom’s, and Jason’s under the tree presents. I know what I’m getting my dad, I just need to go pick it up from the store.  In terms of stocking stuffers, I know what I’m getting my mom and Stephen, I just need to pick them up.  I’m lost though for my dad and Jason.

Right now I’m watching the newer version of Miracle on 34th Street.  I’ve seen both versions, but I like the newer one better.  Seriously, Mara Wilson was such a cute kid.  She was terrific in both Mrs. Doubtfire and Matilda as well.  Anyway, I really like this newer version of the movie. I also really like Dylan McDermott 🙂 Such a cutie!

The other thing I have to do tomorrow is get a handle on how well I can or can’t sing for Choir on Sunday. There’s a section of the choir number where there are only two or three of us singing and I’m one of them, so I really have to sing out. I’m not entirely sure that’s possible given my cold, but we’ll see.  I’m hoping my range is better by Sunday, since we’re singing so many wonderful Christmas hymns as part of the Christmas program and I love singing the Christmas hymns.

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

free online journal

Log in to write a note