Discussing the Gospel

I find myself wishing again for someone to discuss the gospel with.  It’s something I’ve wished for off and on over the years,but especially over the last few years.  I’ve never truly felt comfortable discussing it with my mother (too much of a teacher-pupil).  I really want more of a peer to peer relationship.  It’s going to be a requirement of my future husband, that’s for sure.  But I also don’t have any friends (I don’t have many friends to begin with) that I can discuss the gospel with.  Truth be told, that’s what I really want for my birthday but unfortunately it’s not something I can just buy for my birthday. 

I really needed church today.  I’ve been PMSing the last few days and with that comes nasty mood swings.  I needed the peace and comfort I found in Fast & Testimony meeting.  That peace didn’t last long though.  I got home and felt weighed down again.  Work’s weighing me down, with things being as crazy as they are.  Between work and home stuff, I’ve really been feeling weighed down. Mentally, I’m ready to be on my own.  Financially….not so much.  

I’ve been feeling rather lost these days.  I’ve really been struggling with who I am, who I want to be, and where I want to be going.   I’ve been praying about it and today I received an answer to my prayers.  A member of the Bishopric was sharing his testimony and talking about the conference talk by President Monson entitled "Be Your Best Self."  Specifically, he  mentioned studying diligently, praying fervently, and living righteously.  I realized that if I do those things, everything else will fall into place.   I don’t think that means things will be easy for me, or without trial. It’s more that I’ll no longer be lost.

Log in to write a note
May 3, 2009

*hug*

May 15, 2009

Hey, I’ll be on this afternoon, so we’ll chat & see!

May 15, 2009

RYN: Thanks. 🙂 You know what, after reading this entry again, I definitely think the answer you got is right. To study, pray, and live righteously. Lately I’ve been wanting to share the gospel more with others, but I’ve felt that maybe this is my time to prepare myself spiritually. The closer you get to the Lord, the more I know you won’t feel lost and struggling. 🙂