LSAT Score

Yes, that’s right. I got my LSAT score today, a full week before I expected it. I’m a little surprised to have received it already, given that their offices are currently closed until next Monday.  Anyway, I got a 159 – not the score I wanted, but I did score in the 78th Percentile.  So my plan is to register to take the LSAT again in February.  In the meantime, I’ll go ahead and apply to NIU and hope I get my decision prior to taking the February LSAT.  If I get in before the Feb. LSAT, I’ll simply cancel my registration and send my acceptance to NIU. Otherwise I go ahead and retake the LSAT and hope for the best.  Obviously, I’m hoping to get into NIU.  NIU has rolling admissions, so I’ll know 2-5 weeks after they receive all my materials.  There is still a distinct possibility that I could know about NIU before the Feb LSAT, but I need to prepare like I’m taking the blasted thing again. Right now, I have to finish cleaning up my resume and write my personal statement. After those two things, my portion of the application will be complete and I’ll just be waiting on the second letter of recommendation to be processed – something that can’t happen until after the LSAC offices open again next Monday.  So it could be the end of next week before I can submit all of my application materials for NIU or even later. Right now it’s all based upon when that letter of recommendation gets processed.  The nice thing is that all the application materials are online, so I don’t need to factor in mailing times. I can also track my application status online on LSAC’s website or from NIU’s website. From that Friday, it’s four weeks until the February LSAT.  So it’s very possible I could find out the status of my application prior to the February LSAT.

In other news, we were swamped at work today. There were times today where 30 and 40 calls were holding at once (doesn’t usually happen in December, or at all really that we have that many calls holding at once).  So we were on incoming calls all day.  My lead worker said tomorrow should be somewhat tamer, so I’ll likely have some reading time.  The nice thing about incoming calls is that there’s no time to be bored, so the day goes quickly. The problem right now for me with incoming is that I spend much more of my day talking when we’re on incoming, so my voice is protesting right now.  But with us spending time on dialer tomorrow that will help my voice.  The other good thing is that this is just a three day work week before we get a four day weekend.

The other thing I need to make a note of is to order beignet mix around the 11th of January so that it’s here in time to use it while everyone’s gone. I’ll probably just order one box of mix.  I love love love beignets and wish there was a place to get them around here, but there’s just not.  So I make them at home when I can.  Right now, I’ll have the house to myself from the time I get up on Wednesday January 20th until I leave for work on Monday January 25th. My parents are going from the 14th through the 25th, but my brothers don’t leave for school until the 20th.  The current plan is for my brother to take my parents to the airport on the 14th, and then when my brothers go to the airport on the 20th, they’ll drive themselves and leave the car there for my parents to drive home on the 25th.  Given the flight times in and out and my work schedule, that’s the easiest way to do it.  It means paying for parking for those five days for my parents, but that’s not a gigantic deal by any means.  It’s definitely nice for my brothers to be able to drive themselves on the 20th, as they’ll need to be at the airport by about 4:30AM.  Sorry, but that’s way too early for me to be getting up and then going into work for a full day (January’s our busiest month, so I can’t get any time off).  Anyway, that’s my story for tonight.

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

free online journal

Log in to write a note
December 28, 2009

I don’t remember what the target score was, but at least you’re taking it as an opportunity to take the test again and make the best of it.

December 29, 2009

RYN: That’s actually not that short of your target, at least.