Don’t string them along

I’m thankful that my mom keeps me grounded. I’m glad I can get her advice and that it’s never bad advice.

I don’t want to skate on the synchro team this year, but I haven’t told the captain that. It’s not something I’m looking forward to, even though I know she’ll be okay. I’m nervous because I know if I quit there is a very high likelihood that there won’t be a team. It’s not an issue of ego, it’s an issue of numbers. The team can’t compete with less than 8 skaters. The vets are all graduated, transferred, or have quit. If I stayed, I would be oldest member, it being my fourth year.

Anyway, I called my mom and she told me to just get it over with. 

I’ve been super paranoid at work because my hours went from 38/week to 12/week. I knew something like that would happen once back-to-school was over and they had to deal with the surplus seasonal labor, but I expected the seasonal workers to be gone by this week or next. I was worried that they just didn’t want to schedule me anymore, that maybe I had done something wrong. Well, thankfully, I looked at the schedule for two weeks out last night and was relieved to see I have 28 hours. Thank goodness! Actually, 28 is a little more than I’d like to be scheduled (20-25 seems to be the most manageable), but my bank account will be pleased anyway. 

Mollie is a fangirl for Joseph Gordon-Levitt and we discovered a mutual appreciation for Chris Evans’ body talent. It was fun exchanging dorky fan shit over facebook last weekend. Seriously, she is my favorite person. I hope we don’t end up living so far apart forever.

Tamara and I are still engaged in something similar. We both decided to jump on board with with show Sherlock. The BBC is not healthy for me. Downton Abbey, The Hollow Crown, and now Sherlock? I’m living in the wrong country. 

I’ve been thinking about after graduation. Last semester my heart was set on applying to grad school to get a post-bac masters degree with a teaching license. Now I’m not sure if I’d like to do that still. I don’t know, maybe I would. I should research to see what it entails to just get the license without the masters. The masters is for elementary education anyway and I’d rather teach high school if anything. I think I would also be happy working a a nonprofit with a focus on either at-risk youth or women’s health. Anything that will have a positive impact on society. One option I have is to take a year off, volunteer/get a job, and then apply for a grad program. 

Listening to Obama on Sunday was pretty cool. I was less than impressed by the crowd and I’m not sure I ever want to deal with people like that again. They were incredibly rude. Not to me, but to the speakers. Obviously, we were all there to hear the president, not our state officials or fellow students, but when the crowd let out a collective groan as this young man started talking about how both his parents died without health insurance I was brokenhearted. Honestly guys? We’re a crowd of adults and this is how we act? Grow the fuck up and learn to be respectful. Also, I learned that I’m just not very comfortable in a crowd of so many extremely opinionated people. It’s good to have opinions and be educated and all that, but there doesn’t seem to be a lot of sense in preaching to the choir. I’m pretty sure that’s why that stupid phrase was invented in the first place: to discourage people from wasting their breath so obnoxiously. 

 

Log in to write a note