Dick’s Halloween

I am trying to get caught up because I have had not computer time. I did have some today but either my computer or OD did not want to co-operate with me. Darn it anyway ~ what a waste of time.

Dick had to go to his cousins’ funeral. Well he didn’t have to go but I think he went more for the sister of the deceased than for the deceased. In all the years that we have been together I have never met him. He was 47 awaiting a heart transplant due to an extremely enlarged heart. They would not lay a hand on him until he lost 100 pounds because he was so over-weight. Losing 100 pounds is pretty hard to do lying in a hospital bed for over two months. The family decided to cease life support because that was the only thing that was keeping him alive. His son did get to see him first. Shortly thereafter Ray took his last breath.

Going to your cousins’ funeral is a good of an excuse as any to drink. Thank God Dick did not try to drive home. He had enough family around to get him to safety and I am glad that they did not think that home was safety. He stayed the night in town at L’s place.

Putting the rest of this entry on private because I really went on a tangent and it felt good.

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2003

That is sad…he was so young yet.

November 11, 2003

Sorry to hear about this. Even the private stuff. I can only imagine what is in there!