Trip to Urgent Care

Sunday started out just like every Sunday lazy day around this house. Catch up on laundry and watch TV.

The kids went out to ride the 4-wheeler. Dick had also gone out to ride. They were all in and out most of the morning.

Tyler came in with tears in his eyes.

Why are you crying?

I’m not.

Why do you have tears running down your face?

It’s cold outside.

The cold made your eyes water.

Yeah.

Okay.

Then Dick made him a sandwich. He took one bite and started crying.

Why are you crying?

My chest hurts!

(With the history of heart trouble in Dick’s family I went into a state of panic ~ on the inside.)

I ask him all sorts of questions to try to figure out why he is having chest pains. All the while I knew that I was bringing him in. I just did not want any surprises when we got there.

We did take him to Urgent Care.

My son was having chest pains because he has heartburn? I did not believe it when we left the hospital and I still do not believe it now. The doctor told me to give him Pepcid Complete and to watch what he eats ~ nothing fatty. So we stopped at Wal*Mart and picked up Pepcid Complete $7.41 for a bottle of 25. I gave Tyler one immediately ~ still in the Wal*Mart parking lot. Went to the grocery store and picked up yogurt and then we came home.

After spending over two hours in Urgent Care, having X-rays taken, and all sorts of blood work they could only tell me that he has heartburn.

I think he had more of a flu than heartburn. He would sleep for a bit then wake up crying. “I can’t breathe! My chest hurts!” This went on all evening and all night. He finally settled down around 5 AM.

I did not send him to school and he slept most of the day. He was finally feeling good enough to eat and asked for macaroni and cheese. So I made him macaroni and cheese but while it was cooking he went to sleep. When he woke up an hour later it was ready and waiting for him. He ate two helpings ~ the first one that I gave him was just a small portion just in case he decided that he couldn’t eat it. He was fine.

If must have been a flu bug!

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2003

I know how you felt. With my crew, it seemed like we had an assigned parking space next to the ER entrance. 🙂 – – – –

November 4, 2003

Poor baby ~ sending hugs to Tyler! Hope all is well with rest of you crew.