UPDATE!!

So, we got some great news…..Matt’s orders got changed (again), and now we get to stay on the East coast!  He’s getting transferred to a base about an hour from here, so we don’t even have to move, unless we want to.  We have until at least next June to decide since we did just sign another lease, and since it’s so close we can’t get out of the lease.  I love our house, anyhow, and don’t really want to move.  We have talked about possibly buying a house, though, since after he is done with his 3 years on this duty he gets to decide where he wants his next base to be, so we could be here at least another 6 years.  We need to pay off some credit card debt before we seriously consider buying a house, though.

I’m having a garage sale this weekend.  I’m selling all the baby clothes and things that Logan has now outgrowns 🙁  Matt is adament that we aren’t having any more kids.  I still am holding out hope for one more.  If we decide to, I’ll just have to buy all new stuff.  I have a bunch of other stuff I’m selling too.  It won’t all fit in the garage, and  they are calling for isolated thunderstorms on Saturday.  I really hope they isolate themselves somewhere else so I can set things outside.

Derek starts kindergarden next Friday.  I’m ready for him to be back in school during the day.  I need a break.  His Ritalin hasn’t been working very well lately, it seems.  He had a follow-up appt yesterday, and we decided to try switching him to Concerta, which is a long-acting med, though it’s still a form of Ritalin.  I’m hoping it will work.  Plus, he won’t have to take meds at school now.  He’s been bouncing off the walls, not listening, talking non-stop, not paying attention.  The Ritalin was only working for about an hour after each dose before he was right back to doing all those things.  He has a new doctor since his old one (that I loved) PCS’d last month.  Luckily, I seem to really like his new doctor, so that’s good.  I’ve had bad luck with the doctors at the Naval Hospital in the past.

Logan still isn’t talking 🙁  So, we started speech therapy with him.  He has the same speech therapist that Derek had.  She told me the other day she thinks it might be a low muscle tone problem with his mouth.  I just want him to talk.  Other than that, he’s doing great.

And, that’s about it around here.  So, until next time….

Log in to write a note
August 18, 2006

I think Tommy has a low muscle tone problem in his mouth. He just has to work hard to say certain sounds it seems.