OH SHIT, WE’RE BACK

So here we all are, back on OD. I don’t know how long it’s been since I wrote my final entry on the original site, because my diary is still updating. This site was so important to me, and truth be told, I downloaded my diary in HTML format before the site closed and have since been going through every single entry in Word (there are so many entries) and reformatting them back to readable text. I’ve spent so much time reformatting over the past however-many years and now I only have a handful of entries left to edit. They’re all questionnaire entries – the huge amount of formatting made them very tedious to sort out.

So I reformatted 99% of my diary and made that Word doc. my diary instead, writing in it like I once wrote online. Sometimes I’d write multiple times in a day, other times I wouldn’t write for months. Just like OD though, I’d always come back eventually.

The new diary was great, but I really missed the insight of other people online. Writing is great for self-reflection, but I found it more grounding to be able to reflect with others.

Anyway, a lot has changed since that last entry, but as always, a Hell of a lot has stayed the same. The last four years have been the most personally challenging years of my life.

I’m looking forward to reconnecting with the people whose diaries I used to follow and finding a similar sense of community to what I felt before.

Welcome back to OD everyone 🙂 How weird is that. Actually, I’m surprised it didn’t happen earlier. I’m surprised OD ever closed down at all.

Did you guys know that OD was the first ever social media site?

x

Log in to write a note
April 6, 2018

Welcome back, it’s good to have you here!

April 12, 2018

@thediarymaster It’s good to be back. Welcome back to you too.

August 17, 2018

I’m back too

June 10, 2022

Is it really the first Social Media site? How come I didn’t find it before ITW…