But I Swear, I Lie, I Curse All of My Dreams

Okay, so.  The concert.

It was amazing! ’nuff said?

Guppy and I left work and drove down to Portland.  Even with the gas break and the traffic, we were an hour early for the show.  So we stopped at Panda Express to get something to eat and then zoomed over to the Crystal Ballroom.  The venue, as far as small concerts go, was amazing… nice open floor with benches along the sides of the room and a balcony that lets you sit in comfy chairs and watch the show.  We were on the floor.  3 rows from the front.

Apparently it’s a Indy / Alternative Rock festival going on in Portland, "A December to Remember" and this concert was the first to sell out completely.  The first act, who sang two songs (including one from the New Moon Soundtrack), was Anya Marina… who was cute.  She has a good voice, and an interesting sound.  img_0432.jpg picture by zarlune

That’s the best picture I have of her… and the heads of the only two people who were in front of me for it. 

Then a little bit of a wait and… The Airborne Toxic Event!

I’m so glad I brought my camera. ::laughs:: I turned the flash off, for politeness sake,… being so close and whatnot, so they’re a tad bit blurry.  But here’s piccies!

Anna, playing keyboard and doing backup vocals:

img_0437.jpg picture by zarlune

The Bassist Noah, who apparently had a birthday today (and a blurry Anna): 

img_0441.jpg picture by zarlune

Guitar/Celloist Steve, who was on the other side of the stage most of the time… I was only able to get this picture when he came to do keyboards for a song.

img_0462.jpg picture by zarlune

Anna again.  This time playing her violin:

img_0468.jpg picture by zarlune

And the lead singer, Mike: 

img_0438.jpg picture by zarlune

 

Sorry again about the quality; my camera’s a goodish one but he doesn’t like not having flash in dark places.  ^.^ I didn’t realize till I got home that I didn’t get a good picture of the drummer.  He’s back there in the back somewhere.

! Oh! And music!  I’ll put some of their music up here so you can listen to their awesomness too!  Guppy and I were bouncing and dancing and singing along all the way home.  It was a lot of fun.  I can’t wait to see them again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRQpXcOQWa8 < Missy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7IGWfkYQ8g < Gasoline

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yVS0zGgZyys < Sometime Around Midnight

Log in to write a note
December 10, 2009

Mmmmmmm, sexy bassist 🙂

December 12, 2009

dont worry about about quality that are still GREAT pictures 🙂

~W
December 13, 2009

Man, I wasn’t even aware that was going on … shows how much attention I pay. Very nice.

~W
December 14, 2009

ryn: Yeah, it would just piss him off more, which is why I can’t bring that sort of thing up when he brushes it off later and digs offhandedly at me about it – if I try to let him know I don’t appreciate the attitude he’ll get pissy and refuse to talk about it. So, I just swallow it for the sake of the friendship … just one more thing … and let the game die. Worse part is, as a fellow GM,

~W
December 14, 2009

he should know better. Ah well … I appreciate the sympathy at any rate – it helps to have others who understand and listen to me bitch. Thanks.

December 14, 2009

Good pics 🙂