30 day challenge day 29

30 day challenge: day 29 – write a letter to someone you barely know who has impacted you in some way.

The only person I could think of that this might apply to is a man my mom met while in the nursing home and became friends with. He was wheelchair bound and couldn’t talk at all so he signed the alphabet to spell out what he was trying to say. He taught me the alphabet also so that I could communicate with him. We became close. He was like another dad to me and he was my mom’s best friend. Even after she left the nursing home we continued to visit him. We helped him to express his needs to the staff alot of the time. Unfortunately after only knowing him a little over a year they moved him to another nursing home and refused to tell us where and refused to allow him to communicate with us anymore. We worry about him now and miss him terribly. 

Jimmy, 

Mom and I miss you so much! We want you to know that we tried so hard to get in contact with you. We would never abandon you, not in a million years! The nursing home took away your tablet so we couldn’t reach you directly. Then we called and came by but they wouldn’t tell us where they sent you to. We even called around to all the nursing homes in the vicinity but they couldn’t tell us if you were at any of them, saying it’s private information. We’re sorry we lost touch with you. It’s hurt mom more than anything. Knowing you was a joy! I loved your sense of humor and your kind heart. You made an impact on my life and that of my mom’s! We love you so much! And we hope wherever you are that you have found happiness there like you had when we all were together. Love and miss you forever!

 

 

Last night while making dinner my stove stayed acting up again. The one burner I use the most will heat up to where I have it set at then slowly lose heat again after a little bit. Then I jiggle it and it’ll gain heat again but then slowly lose it again. It’s been doing this off and on for a couple months. So last night I started researching Marketplace on Facebook and Craigslist for a replacement. I also checked the price of new ones and would go that route if I didn’t find a suitable used one. I found a couple and then decided I’d check into more today. This morning my mom found one and showed it to me. It was almost identical to mine. So I had her message them and see if they’d deliver it for a fee. They said they’d do it for $30 and they’d even take away my old one. So I ebt and took the money out of the bank and am now waiting on them to show up. They said they’d be here in an hour. I didn’t expect to get it so soon. I was only trying to see what was available. But this is even better. It’s only $130!

My neighbor two doors down came over today to give me his phone number in case I ever need any help with anything. He says he wants to come over and mulch my leaves and clean up my yard. Since we live on a busy street and there is a corner store we get people littering sl the time. Everytime I turn around there’s garbage of some sort in my yard. The neighbor also offered to do any household repairs that come up, plumbing, electrical, e.t.c.  I have my brother’s and dad for that but it’s nice to know there’s someone else if I get stuck. 

I have to run to my son’s and pick up his laundry and get it started today. He needs clothes for tomorrow. I guess he joined a dart league and has that tomorrow night. I’m happy he’s finding something he’s interested in besides just working and hanging out.

Tonight Im just making up some cheese ravioli and garlic knots. Something simple and yummy! Hope everyone is doing well! Take care!

Log in to write a note
January 17, 2021

Poor Jimmy and you two for losing contact with him.  Not knowing is just the worst.  Yay!  A new stove.  You can’t beat the price and having it delivered AND having them take the old one= a great deal!  😎

January 17, 2021

Can you still use your ASL? I have known that for years….But you have to use it or you forget parts of it….It’s a very beautiful language.

And maybe Jimmy died and the nursing home didn’t want to tell you?

January 17, 2021

@jaythesmartone I didn’t learn ASL…I only learned the alphabet to communicate with him. That’s all he knew. And no he didn’t die. A few of the nursing home staff made up lies about my mom being a bad influence on Jimmy so they finally transferred him to a different nursing home saying he was breaking their rules and they refused to allow him any contact with us again. They took away his tablet and his wifi so he had no contact. 

January 17, 2021

@mamaqueenie518

Part of learning ASL is finger spelling they go hand in hand because what there is no sign for you have to use your fingers to spell the word.  I know this because I took three or 4 courses on the subject.

January 17, 2021

@jaythesmartone My daughter is learning ASL so I’m familiar with how it works. I just didn’t learn anything other than the alphabet. 

January 17, 2021

@mamaqueenie518

well maybe your daughter will teach you then you have someone else to practise with?

January 17, 2021

@jaythesmartone I’m not interested in learning. 

January 17, 2021

My stove is going bad too, we used our home depot card Saturday & ordered one, but the stoves are all on back order due to covid. Ours won’t be in until March 3rd. When we got in the truck I was like well I hope it doesn’t crap out the rest of the way by the time we get the new one.

You got a great deal! And your neighbor sounds awesome 😊