A drunken night

Yesterday was a rough day at work. Not in that there was hard work or anything just that the environment was rough. Marty was already drunk when I arrived at 4:00. And from there he proceeded to drink alot more. He was drinking beer and doing shots of whiskey until I left at 9:30. Friday’s are the days that he and his sister hang out and drink and reminisce and listen to music. She showed up around 5:00 and made a pot of coffee then drank several cups with Bailey’s added to it. She also did a few shots of whiskey with Marty. She brought her daughter and daughters friend with her to ride the ATV’s. She only stayed till about 7:30, 7:45 then left to take her daughter to get Chik-Fil-A. However she didn’t even bother asking Marty if he or his son wanted anything. Marty says she does that often… comes over and either orders food or goes to get food and doesn’t offer anything to him or his son. After she left I tried to get him to eat dinner but he didn’t want anything in the house. He wanted me to go get fast food but when he told me to get his credit card put off his wallet it wasn’t there. He insisted that was the only place it could be. So then he decided to just order something through Doordash but Doordash wouldn’t deliver to where he lives… it’s kinda out there. Then he checked Grub hub and they would deliver but his son is so picky about what he eats that there was no way to order his food that way on the app. I again suggested just eating something at home but he wouldn’t have it. By that time it was going on 9pm and I was ready to go. I’d had enough of his drunkenness and couldn’t wait to get out of there. He finally decided to just message Lilly and ask her to bring him dinner on her way over which she said she’d do but she was pissed. I guess he does this last minute stuff all the time and it interferes with her nap before coming into work. Apparently he gives credit cards to his caregivers so they can get him whatever he needs when he asks. And he recently applied for a new credit card to give to me to hold. That card was what he had me looking for to get dinner. Turned out Lilly reminded him it was under his iPad on his lap. He was so drunk he forgot. She says he didn’t forget and that he did that on purpose to get her to get the food and come in early. I still say it was because he was not very coherent. He asked me to stay till 9:30 to get him another beer and another cigarette like he really needed them. On my way home I talked to Lilly on the phone and she told me alot about him that I didn’t know and also corrected some of the things he told me that he lied about. 

His sons mom didn’t walk out on her son. HE was spiteful because she left him and he hired the best lawyer he could to take custody away from her. And over the last 10yrs she’s repeatedly tried to get in contact with her son but he refuses to allow it. I think that’s awful! Though if you love your kid so much you don’t let that stop you from being in their life. Hou fight back with everything you have to at least get visitation. That’s my opinion anyway. I would allow no one to stand in my way of being with my children. 

And he told me that his mother was the one that started him drinking. He said that she brought home a 12pk one day in 2016 and said it’d help him escape reality and then gradually introduced vodka and so on. Lilly said that’s a complete lie. She said he’s been an alcoholic all his life, that he’d been drinking the day of his accident that left him a quadriplegic. She said he and his wife were alcoholics way back then.

I’m just going to nod and agree and listen to him. I’m not going to get in the middle of the relationship with him and Lilly. He tells me alot about her and her faults while she works. And she tells me about his. I’m not getting pulled into that drama. I’m keeping everything each of them say to me to myself and my diary of course. I’ll take all his stories with a grain of salt. I’ll just do my job and get out of there. 

He was so drunk by the time I left that he couldn’t type on his Ipad anymore and could barely speak a coherent sentence. Smh…. what did I get myself into?

Back to work tonight! I hope he’s sober when I get there this time! Other than work, nothing else is going on here. I didn’t eat last night because of how late it was when he decided to have Lilly get his food and I went home. And who know’s what or even if I’ll eat tonight. I am making peanut butter cookie dough when I finish this entry. The cookie recipe says to refrigerate it overnight. So I’ll make the cookies tomorrow along with my Salisbury steak and mashed potatoes for dinner. Gotta enjoy this stuff now because July is almost here and I start my change of diet then. Take care my friends! Stay cool!

Log in to write a note
June 26, 2021

That all sounds so stressful! I don’t like being around drunk people unless I’ve had a few myself, and I rarely drink. My husband is a recovering alcoholic (11 years) and even though he doesn’t care I’m still not very comfortable drinking around him.

 

June 26, 2021

@icchyb I’m usually very uncomfortable around those drinking either but in this job I have no choice. I’m not a drinker myself. I rarely will have a frozen drink at a restaurant with dinner but that’s about it. 

June 28, 2021

I’m sorry you have to deal with the drinking. That would really bother me. And now that you’ve found out he’s a big liar, I would be worried about being around him. What does smh mean? I hope you get your dinner tonight!

June 28, 2021

@darkmadonna Smh is shake my head