My last couple days

The last couple days have been pretty good. I worked Saturday and was surprised to find that Lilly was still there when I arrived. Marty hadn’t gotten out of bed yet so Lilly was trying to get hom cleaned up and dressed and into his chair. I watched my favorite channel,  Discovery ID while waiting. Once Marty was in his chair I took over helping him with his drink and cigarette. I also had to help him set up his new credit cards and run the dishwasher as well as had to put away all his necessities that were sitting in a box in the dining room. While doing all that Lilly just kinda hung out there talking in the phone. Then she convinced Marty to get subs for dinner and she picked them up. After eating she left and I only had an hour left till my time to go home. The day went by super fast and Marty for once wasn’t drunk!

Yesterday I visited with my mom then came home and ate lunch and relaxed a bit. A little later I went to go to the store to pick up some groceries for my mom and 3 little kids caught me in my driveway. They wanted to make some money doing yardwork. At first I was going to tell them no. I was going to have my son do the lawn Tuesday or Thursday but I know he’s working alot plus these kids tugged at my heartstrings. So I showed the kids how large my yard was to make sure they could handle it and then got the mower out for them. They were going to take turns. I left them to it and ran to the store for my mom and dropped her stuff off then hurried back because it was 92° and I wanted to get the kids a bottle of water so they didn’t overheat. When I got back they were taking a break so I got them each a water and gave them homemade peanut butter cookies I had just made. These kids were here for hours! They kept taking breaks and needed more cold drinks. Then one kid fell and scraped up his knee so I had to go out with the peroxide, neosporin and band aids to clean and patch him up. I haven’t had to watch or take care of little kids in a very long time. They’re exhausting, lol. Amazingly the lawn looked good. The oldest boy, age 12 had to go back over the area the younger boys did but he still split the money with them. I thought that was nice! I paid them $30 so they’d each get $10. My mom says since they got cookies, water and pop as well as my son’s old bike (I gave it to them) they they’ll probably be coming back to do it again each week. I hope not because I can’t pay to get my lawn done every week. My son will do it most of the time. 

How about I had to call roadside assistance yesterday morning at my mom’s. I had gotten her a hot coffee and when I was getting out of the car the lid popped off the coffee and spilled down the front of me. It was burning my leg and arm so while flustered I dropped all my other stuff in the driver seat and shut the door to hurry inside to change my shirt. I hadn’t realized I locked my car door during all of that with the keys inside. Amazingly the tow truck got to me and got my door unlocked 15 minutes later. Best service ever!

I work today in a couple hours. Marty wants me to go through some clutter on his dining table and put it all away. It’s bothering him. It gives me something to do other than just giving him his smokes and drinks. I’ll bring my own dinner with me tonight so I can make sure to eat. Just going to make some ravioli. Tomorrow’s dinner is chicken taquitos. 

That about catches me up. Take care my friends! Stay cool. It’s hot out there!

Log in to write a note
kat
June 28, 2021

you have the kindest heart!

June 28, 2021

It was nice for you to have your yard work done, and it was nice of you to look after and pay the kids! It might be good to have them do your yard once in a while as a break for your son and a treat for them.

Are you liking your job? It’s very different for you. Have you been able to get used to a new schedule? I’ve been away and I’ve not caught up with my friends, so perhaps you’ve already written about this. I’ll go back now and see…

June 28, 2021

@darkmadonna I am pretty much use to my new schedule. I wouldn’t say I like my job but it’s alright. I don’t like being around people when they’re drunk so that’s tough but otherwise it’s ok. 

June 29, 2021

That was sweet of you to let those boys help! Poor kids though, the heat is absolutely atrocious. I hope you’re staying cool and safe! Always praying for you! <3