Another good day at work

Monday at work Marty managed not to get drunk again which with as much as he drinks surprises me. If I drank as much as he did I’d definitely be drunk yet he isn’t quite drunk until he drinks alot more. He had 4 or 5 rum and diet Pepsi’s and a beer while I was there. I’m not sure how much he had before I got there. That’s actually not alot for him compared to some nights. I brought ravioli with me for my dinner so I’d get to eat. He had me feed him his leftover General Tso’s and egg rolls. He was quite consumed with his Ipad talking to several people on a chat app. Apparently he has a good friend that he grew up with named Candy. She moved away when they were younger but had kept in touch of and on over the years. She says she wants to move back to Ohio and move in with him and bring her 30yr old autistic daughter. She says she will take care of him and he won’t need to pay anyone for mornings and late nights. He’d just need someone occasionally to give her a break. He says that if this actually happens this time (she said this once before about 5yrs ago and never came) that he will still keep me because I work the perfect schedule to give her a break. She tells him she loves him and wants to have a relationship with him. He’s confused at what he wants. On one hand he hopes she really does move there and in with him and his son but on the other he says he still loves Lilly and wants to have a relationship with her. But he describes their relationship like fire and gasoline… they’re toxic to each other. He asked what I thought about it and I told him that only he can make that decision. If he really thinks he and Lilly aren’t good for each other and he believes Candy will follow through on her plans this time then he should go for her. It’d be more beneficial for him. He’d have someone there nights which he desperately needs and he’d be saving alot of money not having to pay so much to Lilly and Angel. I don’t know that I believe he loves Lilly in the way he says he does. I think he loves her as a friend and caregiver and loves that she takes great care of him but that’s all. He’s said several times to me that he just wants a woman to be there to take care of him and his son for the rest of his life. I’m sure he’d take any woman who would do that for him. Other than feeding him, getting him his drinks and smokes he had me clean out a cluttered corner of his counter and floor. It wasn’t a whole lot but involved enough bending and stooping that my back hurt horribly. It took about an hour but it looks much better now. He also had me take a package with me to drop at a UPS location near me the next morning. When leaving it there they needed his phone number and I realized that I don’t have it. I guess it’d be a good thing to have, right? I gave them my number instead and it turns out it’s a good thing I did. They used it to send a text message with the receipt and Marty doesn’t have a cell phone. His is a home landline. I’ll let him know tonight when I go in. Hopefully tonight will be another night where he isn’t so drunk. I think I’ll order a salad from O’Charleys before I go to his house tonight and have that for my dinner. I know he doesn’t have anything I’d really eat and I don’t have anything to cook and reheat later. It’s just about grocery shopping time. 

Nothing else really going on here. The weather has been horrible…93°! My air conditioners are struggling to keep it cool. I started my bedroom air conditioner at 4:30 yesterday and when I went up to read at 7:00 it was better than my hallway and bathroom but still extremely warm. It didn’t end up really cool in there until almost 10:00. It’s an old air conditioner, almost ready to crap out. 

Tomorrow morning I take my car into the Kia dealership. I’m crossing my fingers that it goes well and there’s not anything expensive that’s wrong with the car. I have laundry to do later that afternoon. I also need to get grocery shopping done either Friday or Saturday. Sunday is our town’s 4th of July parade and me, my brothers and my one brothers girlfriend and kids all go to my mom and dad’s to watch the parade and have BBQ afterwards. I have to make S’mores brownies for the dessert. My mom says she’s not changing her diet/ eating habits until the 5th because she knows she’s going to want to have dessert and eat everything else at the BBQ. She wants me to wait to make that change as well. I think I’ll change tomorrow like I had planned but that I’ll slack a little at the BBQ. Not too bad but I’ll allow myself alittle something that I won’t be eating on my diet normally. I decided also that I’m not going to allow myself the one can of pop like I previously said I would. I’ll finish what’s in my kitchen and not have anymore at all. I’ll stick to water with lemon or lime and unsweetened ice tea. I’m ready for this!

That’s all my friends! Stay cool, stay safe!

 

Log in to write a note
June 30, 2021

Wow. Marty sounds like a convoluted guy. 🙁 We are having ground beef hash for supper. 🙂

kat
June 30, 2021

jo can drink people under the table too… that is because she is an alcoholic

 

June 30, 2021

@kaliko Yeah so is Marty. 

July 1, 2021

Giving up Diet Coke was really hard for me. I was a complete addict. But I feel much better now that I don’t drink carbonated drinks, except the occasional hard cider or sparkling water. I hope you achieve the same success.