Declining health

My dog Bailey, 14yrs old, is showing some decline in her health or well being. Her eyesight is almost gone from the cataracts. I can no longer let her out on her own to go potty when it’s dark or because she can’t see and gets turned around and confused. I have to take her out on a leash on her own. I also have to turn lights on at night when I go to take her downstairs because last week she tried to go down when it was still pretty much dark and she fell down the entire flight of stairs. She limped for 2 days but seems fine now. I am pretty sure she also has arthritis. She is having trouble going up my back porch steps (they’re a little steeper than regular stairs) and she will jump up on my bed at night but hesitates or just downright refuses to get down. I realized it was because it was painful for her. Then for the last 2 nights she spit up or vomited at night on the end of the bed… not a lot but enough that it’s noticeable and needs cleaned up.  I don’t know how much time I have left with her. She seems happy and fine most of the time otherwise she the diapers keep her from having an accident when her bladder let’s loose so I don’t want to even think about putting her down yet. If she gets to the point where she can’t get up and down the stairs by herself I’ll have no choice. I can’t physically lift her. 

Enough about that… it’s been crazy at work lately. On the 25th Marty had surgery to have a supra- pubic catheter put in. Lilly is being childish and not speaking to me so she refused to call me when they got home from the hospital. I was suppose to be there when they got home. I had to wait till Angel found out and she called me. I ended up being late by a half an hour. Marty didn’t care but it pissed me off. While there she spoke to me when she had to only which was surprising she even did that. However, yesterday Marty was soaked in urine through his pants waist area and his bottom of his hoodie. He didn’t know where it was coming from abs was worried his penis was leaking (which it can’t when you have a supra-pubic catheter. I looked abs told him it was coming from his port for the catheter which worried him more. To top it all off her kept having the feeling of urgency but nothing was coming through the tube. It was still working, his bag was filling up. It just wasn’t when he felt it should be. I finally just called his doctors office and left a message with the after hours medical line for the doctor to call me back. He called about 10 minutes later abs it turned out Marty was experiencing bladder spasms. It’s common when you have a UTI, which he does and it causes the urine to pump out around the port. He called in a script and it was gonna have to be picked up last night. During all of this I tried texting Lilly and she never answered it, then I tried calling her…. she had me blocked completely! I couldn’t believe she’d do that when she knows that sometimes I need to get ahold of her for stuff concerning Marty. I finally just called her from his home phone and she refused to “go out of her way” to get his prescription in the way to his house. I had to leave Marty there and drive all the way just past where I live to get the script and drive all the way back only to have to leave again an hour later to go home. It was way out of my way but I wasn’t going to make him wait for the script till today. When I got back, Lilly was there changing his clothes and putting him to bed then she went to take a nap. I made his dinner, fed him, did the dishes and then gave him his water and a smoke before leaving. I never got to tell her to write my check before she went to bed and I obviously can’t call or text her to do it. I spoke with Angel this morning and she was calling Lilly for something so she was going to relay the message. I just think she needs to grow up. She is going to be 39 yrs old in about a week. She shouldn’t be acting like she’s 16.

Well that’s about all for today. I have to sweep and mop my dining room and kitchen as well as do the dishes and make my dinner to take to Marty’s. Busy, busy, busy… that’s my life nowadays! Take care my friends, be happy and stay safe!

Log in to write a note
August 28, 2021

I am sorry about your Baily. You are the best fur mommy and I know you will do right by him.  The drama at your job has to drive you a little crazy.  The procedure they performed will help immensely.  Hope you can get you check soon.  😎