Food for thought

It’s officially fall at my house! The air conditioners are put away until next year! I have the nice cool breeze coming in through my windows now. And because my son was here to take out the air conditioners he also got my lawn cut. I lured him here by telling him how cool it would be this week and next and that he’ll need his long pants now and maybe some hoodies. He told me as long as I treated him to his favorite Mediterranean restaurant for his dinner he’d help me. He would have helped me anyway but he put that out there because he knew I’d get it for him. I don’t like different ethnic foods like Indian, Mediterranean, or Greek. He does and really enjoys that restaurant. He got alot of food. I never mind getting him food or clothes when he needs our wants them because since he’s not living at home anymore. I feel it’s only right to use his child support on him. 

My mom so far is doing good on her meds. She’s not abusing them this time so far. She thinks it’s because her ADHD meds are helping her to stay out of her pain meds. She’s never taken the ADHD meds correctly so she’s never known if that would help her with her control of the pain meds or not. I hope it does work and that she keeps on track. 

Tonight for dinner I’m making Bangin Mac and Cheese. It’s a recipe I found on Pinterest that is a mac and cheese made with Colby Jack cheese, Monterey Jack cheese and Cheddar cheese. Added in is Cayenne pepper…a nice bite to it. 

I was surprised that my son told me yesterday that my Loaded Broccoli and Potato Soup sounded good and he wished I’d have saved some for him. He usually doesn’t want any of my food so I didn’t even think to save any for him. From now on I’m suppose to tell him what I made and see if he wants me to bring him some before taking all the rest of it to my mom and dad. 

All that’s on the agenda for today is some dusting and relaxing watching TV and doing a puzzle until it’s time to do the dishes and make dinner. I hope everyone else has a more exciting day!

Log in to write a note
September 17, 2020

no matter how much child support I got I always bought my son something with it…It was very rarely food but it was clothes or toys that he wanted.

September 17, 2020

@jaythesmartone I thought you only got $20 a month? Child support is supposed to help take care of the child which includes helping to keep a roof over their head and keep utilities on as well as keeping food in their belly and clothes on their back and anything else they may need such as school stuff and extra curricular activities. That’s what my child support always paid. Now that he isn’t here anymore I don’t feel right using it for utilities or the house that’s why I try to get him good and clothes with it when he needs and wants stuff. 

September 17, 2020

*food

September 17, 2020

@mamaqueenie518

Well $20.00 was what was on paper but there was like 10 years where I got nothing ans then when the ex was old enough to get his pension I got that and by that time my son was an adult and I just gave it to him. And as for food I got disability and there was a portion added for my son’s part of the rent and his food and the hydro and as for clothes we always got something called the GST every 3 moths or so and then there was birthdays and holidays and my son got spoiled that way also.

But when my ex stayed on welfare and didn’t get a job there wasn’t much I could do except wait and that is what I did.

September 17, 2020

@jaythesmartone I get disability and a portion of it is for my son also. That’s what I’ll be losing come Jan along with the child support. 

September 17, 2020

I’m glad to hear your mom is doing better with her meds, and yay for your son helping you. I can’t believe you don’t like Indian food that is one of my favorites.