Insurance frustrations

I was so happy and surprised to see that the lien release came to me today! I immediately put it in an envelope and mailed it to the department that needs it so my check can be released. Hopefully they’ll have it by Wednesday then all I have to do is wait on the check to arrive. 

I called insurance today about my narcolepsy medication being denied and was going to get on them because the appeal paperwork never came to me and I wanted to get that done. Turns out my medicine is approved but the pharmacy is trying to run it the wrong way. So I stayed on the phone with the representative when he called the pharmacy to tell them how to run it. They say they can’t do it the way he’s telling them. In the meantime the insurance representative said that my doctors office was only suppose to renew my prior authorization and noone if this would have even happened. They said that the doctors office submitted a tier exception when it should have only been a renewal. That’s why it’s still coming up denied. They gave me the claim# and appeal phone number to give to the lady at the doctor’s office so she can call and do it the right way. I hung up with insurance after an hour and called my doctors office to give the lady this information. She then argued with me saying she did do a renewal but it was denied and she was told to do a tier exception and when she did that it was also denied. I told her everything that wad told to me and advised her to call that number and just do the renewal so I can get my refill. It’s really frustrating to me to know that it’s basically approved but I can’t get it until everyone gets their shit together and does things the way their supposed to. I run out of medicine in about 5 or 6 days. They need to get this done. The lady said she’s busy and won’t get to it until tomorrow afternoon. I’ll call the insurance back on Wednesday to see if it’s all done and if I can get my medication. 

Then I got a letter today from my son’s insurance stating they won’t pay a claim of his from August 2020. I tried calling to find out what the problem is but they won’t talk to me now that my son turned 18. I have to call them back when he’s with me and can approve them talking to me. He doesn’t know how to handle any of these things yet. He’s only just turned 18 in January. 

What a headache all of this is! Why can’t things be simpler? At least I’m finally close to getting a car again. Not too much longer now. And the money my son’s dad owed me,  $1700, he sent to my bank account through Zelle. I never used that before and had to activate it on my back account. Because of the high amount it takes 3 business days to get to my account. I should have it tomorrow. I plan on leaving it in savings unless I choose a car that’s a bit over what the insurance is giving me for my car. In that case I’ll add to it. But I really am going to try not to touch it. 

Got some house chores to do today and just going to make up some ravioli for dinner. Nothing special. That’s all though my friends. It’s a rainy day so I’m inside all today. Not much else going on. Take care!

Log in to write a note
kat
May 3, 2021

glad you are getting a few insurance things worked out… hope your son’s wreck will be covered

 

May 3, 2021

@kaliko My son didn’t have a wreck. It was a medical insurance claim. My son doesn’t drive. 

kat
May 3, 2021

@mamaqueenie518 ohhh I read that wrong. I hope they decide to pay…at times if you ask them to file it different they end up covering it

May 3, 2021

@kaliko I hope so. I can’t believe I’m just now getting the letter when it was from August 2020.

May 4, 2021

There is no reason this should have happened.  There always seems to be a cog in the wheel.  You’ve probably spent hours on the phone between your car insurance, getting the lien, handling your son’s insurance non pmt.  It’s too bad you can’t charge them for all the time you’ve put in for their mistakes.  😎

May 5, 2021

Insurance is such a headache. Hope it all gets figured out!