Simple Convenience

I was thinking about what Jodi wrote today about having our not having a car. I’ve had a car since I was 16. There was only twice I’ve been without one. I actually had forgotten about the one time until just a couple minutes ago. The first time without was when I was having a rough time financially and couldn’t afford my car payment anymore so I let them repo the car and I was going to get a cheaper used car. Until then I had to rely on friends and family for rides to the doctors, grocery stores and laundromats. Luckily I had a friend who was so sweet and so helpful he would let me take him to work in his car then keep the car all day and use it til I had to pick him back up. That got me through quite a bit. You never realize how having a car can be such a simple convenience until you don’t have one anymore. I went through a couple months like that then got a cheaper used car that after a year or so my brother totaled. That put me without a car again for a few month’s. That time I couldn’t borrow my friends car and it was harder to get to where I had to go. I can’t be without a car. It’s too difficult for me to walk to bus stops especially in the winter and to have to stand in one spot and wait for one. It’s too painful! Around where I live there are too many weirdos on the bus anyway. No way would I take it. And taxis are too damn expensive. I only ever took a taxi once other than while on a vacation. And it cost more for a one way trip than it would have cost to fill a gas tank and drive for a week or two. I’ll always make sure to have a car. 

This morning while visiting with my mom we watched Hallmark Christmas movies. I love this time of year when they’re on. I only watch them at my mom’s though since I pretty much stick to Netflix and Hulu shows at home. 

Today I need to run the vacuum and do the dishes but otherwise don’t have much needing done. For dinner I’m just making seared pork chops, a veggie and a side dish. Not sure what yet. I forgot to thaw my meat for my homemade Salisbury steak that I was going to make. I guess that’ll be tomorrow’s dinner. 

For now I’m going to cuddle with my pup and watch my show. Hope everyone has a nice relaxing day as well!

Log in to write a note

I don’t drive … I once tried but almost ran some ppl over. 😮

November 29, 2020

The thing about borrowing a car is you always have to have the same kind of day as the person who lent it to you because you have to get them to work and home again and it’s just easier to be independent and not depend on others.

November 29, 2020

@jaythesmartone Exactly why it’s best to have your own car. But driving my friend to work and dropping him off so I could use his car all day was not an inconvenience. I just had to pick him up at the end of the day. I didn’t have to have the same type of day as him. 

November 29, 2020

@mamaqueenie518

No but  whatever you were doing you would have to stop and go pick him up and can’t be late. Just as an example.

November 29, 2020

@jaythesmartone I never had to quit what I was doing to get him because everything I had to do I got done beforehand. 

November 29, 2020

I had my license revoked for underage drinking tickets when I was 17 and went without a license until I was 20, because it took me so long to pay off all of my tickets and court fees.

Then got it taken away again for a no insurance ticket when I was 22 for like 6months lol. The worst! I had a best friend that always called me when she was running to the stores to see if I needed anything & would take me with her. So that was nice. But not having wheels definitely is a huge hindrance to life.

November 29, 2020

I was never able to afford a car so therefore it was one of the reasons why I never learned how to drive