Worst of times

30 days challenge: day 25 – write a letter to the person you know is going through the worst of times.

This letter is to my friend Cathy! She’s still going through rough times since losing her husband. He died of Colon Cancer, though it spread throughout his body. He was only in his 40’s and had 2 young children as well as 2 older stepchildren. He was Cathy’s second husband and was so good to her. 

Cathy, 

I’m so sorry you’re hurting so much! I can’t imagine the pain you’re going through. I will always be here should you need anything…a shoulder to cry on, an ear to listen, a hand to hold or anything else. I know Ed is looking down on you and is so proud of how you’re handling everything. You’re a strong woman! You work so hard to take care of your family now and while Ed was sick. He was so lucky to have you by his side. I know he loved you and the kids so much! 

 

So I made the Magic Custard today. I’ve never made custard before. It was interesting. It’s in the oven now. I’ve been thinking alot recently about how much I enjoy making all kinds of different desserts. I started out just making no bake desserts because I was afraid I’d screw up anything baked. Slowly I came around and stayed baking easy stuff but I’m finding now I’m interested in branching out alittle. I watch these cooking and baking shows and think “I could do that” if only I had all the things I needed to do them. I think I want a pastry mixer. I already selected some ramekins I want to buy to try and make a chocolate souffle. I’ve never had one but they look so light and yummy! I’ll have to save up for the mixer though if I decide I do really want one. I know they’re pretty expensive. 

I called the vet today for Tito. He has this raised bump on his thigh that was itchy at first and not too big. I thought maybe it was a bite and let it go a little while but I saw it today and it’s dried up a bit and is bigger. It’s probably not serious but it’s bothering me. I take him in next Tuesday morning. Going to have to get into my emergency fund for it but he’s too important to me to let it go. 

Dinner with my son was real nice and really expensive. I didn’t plan on spending as much as I did but the meal he first picked out I knew wouldn’t fill him so I told him to get something more filling. It just so happened it was about $15 more. We had seafood stuffed mushrooms for our appetizer and I ate my Ceaser Salad and 2 cheddar bay biscuits so by the time my food came I was already feeling pretty filled up. I only ate my baked potatoe and 5 of my coconut shrimp. The other 5 I sent back to the bar with my son. He had the Salmon, Lobster and Shrimp meal. He was so full he was hurting when we left. Next is my daughter’s birthday. It’s this coming Monday. I’ll be taking her to dinner as well. Just not sure where yet. It’ll be up to her. She’ll be 25.

Today I’m making my stuffed shells for dinner. It was between that and Keilbasa and Sauerkraut with mashed potatoes. Since I already dirtied the beaters I decided on the stuffed shells. I’ll do the dishes tomorrow. 

That’s all for today. Take care everyone!

Log in to write a note
January 13, 2021

Sorry for your friend.  Glad the dinner out went good.  I know son loved the meal and the good company.  Having a smooth day over here.  😎

January 13, 2021

question? Do you also take her boy friend out for her birthday dinner as a family? I know when it’s my birthday hubby comes and my parents pay for him and my son because those are the most important people in my life?  And do you take your parents also?

January 13, 2021

@jaythesmartone No I don’t take my daughter’s fiance or my parents. It’s HER birthday dinner from me. Now any other time I take her out to dinner I include her fiance. Why would I include my parents? It wouldn’t matter even if I could seeing as my daughter has nothing to do with my mother anyway. 

January 13, 2021

@mamaqueenie518

No but it’s an opportunity where the whole family can celebrate the occasion….you only turn 25 once right?

January 13, 2021

@jaythesmartone Well I can’t afford to pay for everyone.