The Rodeo

Have you ever been to a rodeo?  They are so fun!  I remember the first time I went.  I was probably about 7 or 8 and my parents took me.  We showed up at the Shoemaker Center in Cincinnati, and I thought it was the biggest place I had ever been to.  After the national anthem, all the excitement began. 

At first, it’s a lot of petty stuff.  The rodeo clowns come out and entertain the crowd for a while, but then when the cowboys come out, there is all kinds of excitement.  They are decked out from head to toe with rodeo gear.  I remember seeing them wearing helmets and vests and thinking how dangerous it was to be riding those horses and bulls.  I will never forget it.  If you ever get a chance to go to a rodeo, you definitely should.  It’s one of those pure forms of entertainment that is 100% American and 100% heartland.

Log in to write a note
January 25, 2010

Never been to a rodeo, but sounds like it could be entertaining :o) ~Daniel