A weekend at home

After being away – which already seems like it was months ago – it’s nice to have a weekend at home and not have to go anywhere.

And it was a great weekend! Friday the kids played after school. After dinner we went for ice cream. They had gift cards from their Easter baskets that they were dying to use. It had turned raining and stormy. We rented a movie from redbox. They love doing that even though we can stream just about everything. They chose Thor Ragnorak – I did not remember that they had already seen it about 5 times! It’s not one of my fave MCU movies – but hey who doesn’t love to look at Hemsworth?  H got home at about 11:30. Kids were asleep. We got high and soaked in the hot tub for a while. So good to have him back.~~~Sat morning was gorgeous! Blue sky, sun, good temp for running. I met my friend and we got in 6 miles. Afterward we stopped at a new coffee place. Great little place and freshly roasted coffee. Right in our little village.~~~The rest of Sat was spent just putzing around and enjoying the stellar weather. Kids each had activities at different times. D and a friend went to the library at 2 for a Harry Potter evert. Then her friend came back to our house from 4 -7.  S went to a birthday party sleepover at 4. In between chauffeuring kids around I just tried to soak up the beauty of the day. We had a fire in the fire pit in the eve. There was a massive pile of sticks and twigs that the kids picked up and dumped at the fire pit to be burned. We got through a lot of it. As I sat by the fire I said to H “we’ve been waiting for this for 6 months!” to which he replied “6? That would only bring us back to December.” Damn. Our winters are long. With the weather finally being agreeable, H is in the thick of tri training. He biked 50 miles on Sat. Ran 10 on Sun. He’s tired but he’s doing well. Along the way he found a bike for sale for D. They picked it up yesterday. Perfect fit for her. And purple to boot! Her fave color. Love my kids so much. Love my H so much.

Work is quiet. We are in a blackout period with our ERP. We can do queries but no transactions until Wednesday. So I’m just using up time with cleaning out my mailbox. I’ll be gone soon so I want to clean out any personal items for sure. Then dump any really old stuff. After that I don’t care what happens with remains. Speaking of being gone – I need to check in with boss this week to see if they have an end date for me. ~~~I just spent a lot of time reading journal entries. I love it here in OD land but it can be as consuming as FB if you let it. And when boredom or avoidance are in the house it is so easy to go down the rabbit hole.~~~It’s lunchtime. Something smells good near me. I brought lunch today. I’ll go down to the break room and join the ladies. I’ll miss them when I’m gone. Good people.~~~

Log in to write a note
May 7, 2018

Sounds like a nice weekend!