In Which I Plod On

Currently Reading

I have a new found respect for my tongue these days.

No it’s okay the entry isn’t about to drop into the gutter – it’s just that after reading the journalist John Diamond’s book about having oral cancer ‘C – Because Cowards Get Cancer Too’, I had no idea how many important functions the tongue is performing on a daily basis and how, without one, life becomes so very much more miserable.

Initially he only had part of his tongue cut out when the cancer was found at the back but eventually, when it reappeared, he had to have the rest out and apart from obviously being unable to speak, he was then unable to swallow, eat, taste, drink properly and on one horrific occasion, breathe.  I was just totally unaware that your tongue actually assisted in the progress of food going down your throat and that without it, food just sits there and goes nowhere.

What misery!  I’m not sure I could live like that but of course that’s easy to say when not faced with the decision – presumably your instinct would be to live no matter what the cost although Jennifer Worth (who wrote ‘Call The Midwife’) has written an excellent book ‘In The Midst Of Life’ about the process of death and various folk who have had their lives prolonged but not necessarily had a better quality of life as a result.  She herself developed cancer and made the decision not to have treatment, preferring instead to enjoy what time she had left with her family.

Difficult difficult decisions.  I don’t suppose any of us knows what we would do until faced with the crisis.

I find it fascinating how the brain makes associations between place and situations and just keeps on repeating them endlessly.

Every month I go to the bank to top up the petty cash for work and put the cheque in an A5 manila envelope so that I can put the notes and cash into it which I then fold over and put in my handbag so that it’s bulky enough for me to remember to take it out when I get to work.

And every time I do it, it reminds me of Janet Leigh in ‘Psycho’ when she stole the client’s money because she also had it in a manila envelope which she folded over and put in her bag.  I never think of it at any other time – it has to have the ingredients of the bank, the folded envelope and my handbag (even though Marion Crane didn’t actually get to the bank but made off with the money instead) then going back to the car.  There’s no danger of me taking off with our petty cash though because it only ever reaches the not-so-dizzy heights of £100 and I wouldn’t get far with that these days.

I developed a bad habit of having a couple of Crunchies in the evening while I was on the computer.  It didn’t seem to affect my ability to get off to sleep although made me thirsty right enough and I looked on it as my ‘treat’ at the end of the day but obviously it wasn’t doing me or my teeth any good so I tried to have various other things instead one of which was yoghurt raisins.  I discovered I really liked them and the night that happened I was on Open Diary reading Bullwinkle6’s diary.  I had poured a few packets of the raisins into a dish and was reading it as I was doing that then realised ooo I like these so decided that would be my new treat.  Now if I take the packets upstairs and pour them into the dish beside the computer I immediately think of Bullwinkle6’s diary which I haven’t even read for months because she hasn’t updated for a while – I don’t even have to be on OD or anything.  I can even picture the actual entry I was reading at the time – instantly.  If I pour the raisins into the dish downstairs in the kitchen then take them upstairs – nothing.

Are you bored to tears yet?  I just find that stuff fascinating.  Suppose it illustrates that to break a habit you also have to break the associations around that habit as well as the habit itself.

My taper plods on in lumbering tortoise fashion – slow and steady wins the race as they say.  I hope so anyway.

I’ve also been finally diagnosed with Dysthymia – a fairly continuous low mood which persists for at least 2 years and doesn’t respond to the general ups and downs of life.  So for instance something nice happening won’t alleviate it and a crisis won’t make it worse.  It’s very often never treated because sufferers think it’s part of their personality and they’re just basically more negative thinking in general than other people – the average time for getting treatment is usually around a shocking 20 years.  A lot of folk who have it develop addictions because they will try and self medicate to lift the mood and feel better or just to feel ‘normal’ thereby causing even more problems.

The anti-depressant which the doctor mentioned to me – sertraline – has had varying success in treating dysthymia, OCD and opiate addiction apparently so appeared tailor made for me.  The doctor suggested it at the beginning of May but I wasn’t keen because my history of anti-depressant side effects hasn’t been wonderful – however I also wasn’t keen to carry on feeling the way I did so decided to give it a go at the end of that month.

I don’t think the medical profession realise how debilitating it is to feel like crap then be given something which makes you feel much crappier for at least another month before anything will change and even then there’s no guarantee things will get better.  The Internet is full of forum posts from folk unable to tolerate endless days of horrible side effects and who give up almost before they get started for that very reason.

Anyway I’m now into Week 3 and feeling rotten but I know it takes around 6 weeks in general for things to change so will persevere.  When I write anything I generally write in longhand then every so often I’ll type up the pages which means I’m often typing about stuff which has happened a few days before.  This I’ve found quite useful because when I’m having a bad day I could be typing up an entry about having a good day which makes me realise that good days actually exist (because on bad days they slip very easily from the memory).  So I try and write every day about how I’m feeling hoping I’ll start to see more good days than bad eventually.  Sleep is still very much disturbed (waking up a lot during the night and not drifting back off again) – a common side effect – and although they’re not supposed to have a sedative effect there are days when I feel very much in a horrible lethargic haze – that sort of feeling you get when the weather is humid, hot and muggy, your brain feels in a complete fog and you have no motivation or energy to do anything.

I go back to the doc on the 11th July to get the dose doubled which will no doubt produce another month of misery but it’ll be worth it if it helps in the long run.

Doing some research I was amazed to learn that only 10% of serotonin, the rogue component often lacking in folk with depression, appears in the brain, the other 90% living in the gut, controlling what’s going on in your intestines.  However that 10% still controls appetite, mood and sleep, all very important for a healthy lifestyle and a natural feeling of wellbeing.  And that makes sense – if enough serotonin is needed for all that to work efficiently then a lack of it will cause things to go haywire in these areas presumably.

Now a question for all your nature buffs out there of which I know there are many.

What are the wee white flowers in the middle of this photo of buttercups?  (sorry – should have done more of a close up).

They look exactly like white buttercups but I’ve never seen such a thing before and where those buttercups are is one long field which I often frequent with Trooper, it being at the back of the house.  No other white flowers such as these appear in the whole field.

Do you get white buttercups?

Have they wondered in from the wrong end of town and are hoping no-one will notice?

Are they the James Deans of Buttercups?

Maybe they hate butter with a passion and simply refused to be tarred with the same brush as their contemporaries?

Who knows?

Whatever the answer, they certainly filled a boring 20 minute dog walk for me as I scoured the whole field trying to find more, a confused dog at my heels wondering what the hell I was looking at!

Log in to write a note
June 18, 2013

Interesting entry! I think a lot of people wish that somebody would invent an antidepressant with no side-effects. Sometimes I’m sure that they’re worse than the depression itself.

June 18, 2013

hail the rebel buttercups! I enjoyed John Diamond’s work as a journalist and broadcaster – his wicked humour and wise insights in the face of his awful illness and decline to death were (what’s the right word?) wonderful, nah that’s not right. No wonder my entries have declined, as I can hardly type up a sentence these days….

June 18, 2013

just stopping by…

There’s some serious food for thought in here for me – especially in relation to that mood swing thing…and also your experience with starting the medication because I’m about to do the same. RYN at t’other place: I think Meg will be ok in the long run – but getting to that point is what worries me. And yes if you do figure that out – please share lol!xx

June 18, 2013

No, never seen a white buttercup! Unfraid to be different I suppose? I do hope you find help from this pharmacological treatment–I have not heard of this diagnosis but a few times in my life I have lived in a straight line moderate mood — I prefer the ups and downs of life and I think most would. It is not a boring entry, however…quite the contrary.

June 19, 2013

Classically, a death symbol. I have a way that I translate dreams that requires art, classic symbols, and personal responses but haven’t take the time to do that. The instant combination of the dog re: Hades myths and my awareness of facing down that dog seems really empowering to me, feels that way. I am watching and waiting. Thanks for your notes: I understand. That white buttercup stays with me as does your reaction to it, the heightened interest. Off for my day…coupon for birthday month…shopping at 20% off is interesting possibility today.

I can’t fathom what that would be like, living without my tongue. Or any other significant body part. I know so many people do it, but wow. They amaze me with their will to live. Sorry, no idea about the white buttercups!

June 20, 2013

Maybe it’s a natural variation–a hedged bet against the day when all the yellow buttercups get destroyed by process that leaves the white ones alone. I wonder if they look any different to the pollinators.

hey sweet lady. my doc put me on wellbutrin xl a couple of months ago. it is actually a stimulant and helps me not be so tired. it causes a touch of insomnia if taken too late in the day, but it has had the least amount of side effects of any anti depressant that i’ve ever tried. works off of dopamine and seratonin instead of other pathways. maybe ask about it? as long as you dont have a history of seizure, it may be worth a shot. <3 hang in there. you're not alone!

June 20, 2013

There’s so much I’d like to say here — unfortunately, I’ve suck into such a deep depression myself that it’s hard for me to focus long enough to put words together. My doctor prescribed yet another pill for me several months ago but when I read the side effects they sounded identical to the symptoms I wish to alleviate. I think I’m finished with anti-depressants. I do hope this one works for youthough. Wishing us both better days! Re the matter of cancer and the choice to say no to treatment. I’ve given this a lot of thought lately as the doctors continue to test me, looking for something else to pop up. At my age (and pitiful state of mind), I’m thinking I will just say no if they want to do more. Will take it a day at a time.

Life without a tongue is unthinkable.

June 20, 2013

The info about the tongue really made me think. How often does one really notice one’s tongue unless one bites it? I have been on and off antidepressants for years. I finally decided to kick them and will see whether I can keep that up when the days grow shorter.

June 20, 2013

🙂

June 21, 2013

I didn’t know that about the tongue! Scary! Everyone’s different and have different experiences around depression and meds. Prob best that I don’t start on that one. Just wishing you a happy solstice then.

June 22, 2013

RYN: For some reason, the idea of country-western line dancing making it to Scotland terrifies me. ; )

I do think about associations like that sometimes. Especially if a song comes on you haven’t heard in a long time and it conjures up where you were, and you were, at a certain time and place. Having seen my father in his last years and his “quality” of life (actually, lack of quality) I don’t think I would do some of the things that people do just to continue to live. I have seen a lot of people who have been able to survive longer, but at what cost? Personally, I don’t think it’s worth it, but I guess everyone needs to make that choice themselves. Love “Call The Midwife” — love the characters. I hope taking your new medication helps you. Sometimes I read the side effects of some of the drugs people take, and they sound worse than the disease! My BFF, especially, takes a lot of Xanax and Klonopan (sp?) and I think they sometimes affect her negatively. I feel lucky I don’t have any psychiatric balance disorders, but being over 50, of course, I have other physical ones. You know you’re old when you get on an airplane, and your carry-on is mostly filled with all your medications! Which you guard with your life!

June 23, 2013

there are a few people I would like to see without a tongue. chuckles

June 23, 2013

there is a white buttercup

June 24, 2013

That 90% of serotonin in the gut is why many people get gut related adverse effects (nausea) with SSRI antidepressants.

Miss Marg, have you tried taking it super early morning? I wake up and take mine around 6am and go back to sleep. It helps with nighttime restlessness Ive found. Just a suggestion because I know how that feels! =) <3

RYN: well Dave is a little plumper looking than Husband, but yes, I see where you are coming from. 🙂

Just wanted to say thank you for your kind note. I’ve decided I’m not going to turn myself inside out about Sister and whatever I may have done “wrong” … just wondered if there might be somethig an “outsider” can see that I might have done wrong. With the weird way we were brought up, I am sometimes aware that my frame of reference is not the same as other people’s. (As if all other families were ‘perfect’. ) Anyway, thank you. It’s lovely to have input, I feel I can fumble my way along a bit better. I’ll wait and see what happens after I go to Spain. I may find when I get back that I have been involuntarily ‘retired’, in which case I’ll have all the time in the world, but little money. Many good wishes,

July 3, 2013
July 10, 2013

Albino buttercups? I’d never heard of dysthymia, but it describes me completely! Sorry I missed this entry at the time – I was away & then sick. It contains a lot of fascinating stuff. Yes, we form connections between things that seem irrelevant, but were linked together by some emotional event. I am very aware that my chocolate addiction is triggered by being in certain places, and haveeven left a job that had a machine loaded with chocolate in the caf. It seemed the only way to get away from the triggering sight of it. I hope your new medication will work after all it’s put you through!

July 10, 2013

I hope the medication is helping by now — how frustrating, to feel worse before you start feeling better, when you’re already feeling low enough. I’d never heard of Dysthymia- it is good that you finally do have a diagnosis, at least. Now for the curing!