Log in to write a note

I chuckled at the paperback v. hardcover comparison. Well done!

I still buy Terry Pratchett in hardback 🙂

May 28, 2013

ItÂ’s a long time since I could read the size of a really small drill bit, these days itÂ’s seeing the bit! [IÂ’m talking 3/16 & smaller] IÂ’ve been Kindleized for so time now, and I havenÂ’t enjoyed reading some much for years! Just recently my Kindle has started talking to me, its doesnÂ’t read to me just tells me what IÂ’m reading, and how many pages and percent I have read; why I have no idea!

May 28, 2013

Just mark me down as helplessly old fashioned……which I am. I read books like I always did. The kind that you read a la 1950’s while holding them in your hands without reliance on any kind of electronic device.

I buy hardbacks for the same reason: instant gratification But what I love most is Amazons used books with the hard bounds in paperback!

May 28, 2013

I was standing in the library this morning, too, making fun of books that never should have been printed. How to use Wikipedia springs to mind as the best example. Audiobooks are easier on the neck.

May 28, 2013

Yes, e-readers are light and easy to get used to. I still like paper, though. However light, easily manoevrable wins when yiou start getting arthritis in your hands.

May 28, 2013

I just love reading posts about books, and I know what you mean about falling asleep with a heavy tome. As many books as I have, and as fast as I give them away, I almost pant when I see a used-book sale. Mind you, I don’t rush in to buy as I did in my youth when my future stretched in front of me as a highway of printed words. Read on!

May 28, 2013

ryn: If I get distracted, I stop it and rewind. It took a while to get the knack or discipline of realizing I’d been distracted and stopping the playback right away so it wasn’t hard to find the jump off point. Some material is harder to concentrate on than others. Some passages seem to demand a distraction. They lull me into thinking there’s never going to be a point and then suddenly therewas a point and I missed it and so on for several attempts at playback. It’s amusing when it happens. Driving alone is the best time for listening for me. The hours pass by effortlessly. It might work for you, too, because then you wouldn’t be inspecting for cobwebs because your eyes would be busy enough watching for road hazards.

May 28, 2013

You got me in your first paragraph. Always do. You’ve informed and entertained. I cherished the experience.

May 28, 2013

RYNote. I have banished my own words, at lest the Mac didn’t read them to me! Perhaps it the poltergeist from my Kindle, I’m reading the last book of ‘The Progenitor Trilogy’ I didn’t realize it was so long a story until it told me I was on page 300 and something, or 52%; an odd way to mark you progress through a story – like buying Alan Bennett’s words by the lb – or would he have gone metric!

May 28, 2013

One of the last paper books I bought was ‘Untold Stories’ alas I lost the book have way through [50%’ish] I have it on my Kindle but haven’t got round to it yet! The Kindle is wonderful for fiction, but quite useless for illustrations, for my birthday I had ‘Ansel Adams – In The National Parks’ it would have spoilt his glorious photographs – but would have been a tenth of the weight!

May 28, 2013

Excellent essay contemplating books, the start of a book (applies to movie scripts as well), the future of print books versus online/electronic books… ~ I nominated this for Reader’s Choice.

May 28, 2013

Your second paragraph above makes a good point about getting the reader (or viewer for movie or television) involved: make the first page or first five minutes lay out the main conflict and set a hook to draw the reader in. I attended a workshop years ago on screenwriting, and the same point was made.

May 28, 2013

I love paperbacks. I love to read on the beach or lying down with a think blanket. Just something about the paperback.

May 28, 2013

i never read

I still have quite a few books I got at the library discard sales, but my son and daughter-in-law bought me a Kindle White for Mother’s Day and I know I’m really going to like it. I’m thinking of seeing which books I can get on the Kindle for free, many classics I’m thinking such as Dickens and Poe, and give away those “real” books I have and just hang onto the physical books that I can’t get freeon Amazon. I told my mother I’d gotten a Kindle, and she brought up a good point about reading “real” books that means a lot more to her than it does me: it’s hard work keeping a big book open in your hands when you’re 82 years old. I’m going to bring her my Kindle and show it to her once I get a couple of books on it and give her a “tour”; she might like the Kindle a lot better because the Kindle White is a soft white and it just lies flat, no stress on the hands. So there’s that. I can just picture you falling asleep and your hardback book collapsing on your face. And let’s not talk about one dropping on your toe! Although I guess if an e-book falls into the toilet, you’re in *really* big trouble. 😉

i still enjoy reading words on paper. i notice i don’t read as “deeply” as i do when i read from a screen. there was an article about that somewhat recently about our brains scan things on a screen. i suppose this is something which will change over time. that said, my job is tied to the screen so focusing on something different is a good thing for my eyes!

I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a Kindle, but I have so many paperbacks still to read.

RYN: Here is Matty’s address: Matty Remmerswaal, Dorpstraat 62, 4352 AE, Gapinge, Netherlands

May 29, 2013

My friend likes crime fiction like I do, but lately every book I’ve given her she’s disliked, and I can’t understand when I’ve enjoyed the books so much! I rarely dislike a book, but I’d never read science fiction, fantasy or westerns!

May 30, 2013

I’ve had a Kindle for nearly two years now, and I absolutely love it. Partly because you can cart around thousands of books effortlessly. And so much is free, or really cheap- I’m reading Jane Austin again in preparation for going to Bath, and so far I’ve gotten them for free. AND you can get free samples for pretty much any book, and that REALLY helps in deciding what is worth it. In fact, duringyour first paragraphs up there I was trying to figure out why I never seem to do that anymore…. ummmmm, yes, it’s because I get Kindle samples. I’ve read way more books since buying the Kindle than I had in ages before I got it. But I still looooooove a real book. You can never replace that. And I still buy the real thing if it’s an author I love. And my big complaint is that it’s hard to go back and find a certain passage when you start wondering about it later. You can’t just flip through the pages like you can a real live book — at least not so easily. I was just reading an article (NY Times, I think) about how we have a kind of mapped memory for what we’ve read in a physical book, and can go back to certain things based on where they are physically in the book a

May 30, 2013

…. and on the page. Our brains remember that. But with a Kindle it’s totally different and your brain can’t map the location. Kind of a drawback. The lack of color illustrations and pictures in the Kindle is a drawback too — at least the one like mine, the plain non-Fire one. I can access all my Kindle books on my iPad, though, and that has full-color pictures. But it’s bright like the computer screen and harder on your eyes for extended periods.

When I got my tablet I rediscovered reading in a big way – and now I have the iPad its even better. And I read an article yesterday that said e-readers are actually better for your eyes. Win-win!xx

June 1, 2013

I gave my Christmas Nook back. I just didn’t want to get into it.

June 3, 2013

Hi. I’m at Findhorn until Sat 8/6, then go to Carlisle. It’s a bit short notice isn’t it? If I’d had a better idea what we were doing we could probably have travelled up via Aberdeen. The course I’m doing here doesn’t allow a lot of free time, tho I have Thursday after noon and Friday evening free, but I don’t have wheels. ( I could borrow a bike, but I wouldn’t get to Aberdeen and back in the avalable time on it. (In fact, I probably wouldn’t get there at all on a bike!) We got rather lost in Edinburgh and were rather frazzled for a day or two there. My thinking cap was not on straight.

June 7, 2013

ryn: it is different with everyone. Some people get immediate relief from the feelings, others take a long time to process things. You should be able to think about the event without the negative emotions getting in your way. It is not a matter of having no emotion, it is more of a matter of being neutral when you think of an event in your life, neither happy nor sad just something that happened once and now you can let it go with love.

Thank you for your kind note. This may sound weird, but I’ve elarned way too much in the last few days about missing persons. This is one of the less bad scenarios. At least we get to bury him and mourn him.

ryn: loved your note. 🙂 Made me smile.

June 15, 2013

For a while, I had to give up Reading. Because of the severe neuropathy in my hands, I could neither hold a book very long nor turn the pages. Then, a miracle…The Kindle was invented! It saved my soul, truly. Also we do usually 2 two week transatlantic ship crossings a year. The Kindle can hold over 3000 books! It’s phenomenal as a travel aid.

June 15, 2013

I still buy art books {especially the how-to-do-it type of books) in hardcover. Oh, and the occasional cook book. What I LOVE about the Kindle is the ability to change font sizes.

June 15, 2013

I buy my real books from betterworldbooks.com. These days I tend to buy whichever edition is the cheapest. I won’t live long enough to read them a second time. I really enjoy the convenience of my Kobo but always prefer the printed edition of a book. E-readers turn every book into a vanilla edition–same size, limited fonts, no textured pages, etc.

June 15, 2013

Interesting to hear about your selection method at the library. I found my favoutite author, Rose Tremain, simply by making a random selection off the shelf with my eyes closed!!

June 15, 2013

Having a Kindle doesn’t stop me wondering a book shop, when we were in Stockport there was a Boarders Book Shop, a trip there was always expensive, when they went down is saved us money but we still missed it; not the Starbucks up stairs! In Truro we have Waterstones with Costa Coffee up stairs, nice to wonder. After a coffee in the Art Café in the Art Shop, I stood up and found it hard to move!

June 16, 2013

I still love real books, but would definitely get a kindle if I was traveling. Years ago, when traveling with DJ and LE I carted a (heavy) bag of books around the world – wouldn’t do that again!