2018

Been so long since I’ve visited OD……probably since Thanksgiving. Although I love the holidays, I have to admit I’m becoming a Senior Citizen in more ways than I like…..or admit to. Holidays are wonderful if you get to spend more time with Family…….but geeze, they get stressful and are basically a LOT of WORK…….the holiday, not the Family.  It’s fun cooking/decorating but it’s the cleaning up of all that which does me in. We got out all the jumbo plastic containers, marked Christmas. And I’m proud to say that I stopped complaining and actually sorted through all of it. Goodwill has received a lot of jumbo plastic containers with very good Christmas decor that has a lot of good years still in them. The house always looked good with all the decorations but after the holiday, they need to come down and be packed up……..again. And I don’t want to do it anymore. I kept what I loved and it was all more than adequate for again making the house look good at holiday time.

We used to do a lot more entertaining than we do now, especially our traditional Christmas Party. We’ve had so many parties and sometimes there would be huge amounts of people. I enjoyed each and everyone of them. I even catered some of them myself. Can’t even imagine doing that today!……sometimes just dinner is too much work. Youth and Energy just sneak away so slowly that you don’t notice …….until it reaches out and smacks you into believing.

This latter part of the year put No More Youth and Energy right smack in front of me. My husband hurt is knee in September. I remember it well because I had become a hermit in my home while dealing with Shingles. (Big Lousy Bastard-y Condition 🙁 )  He’s never had strong knees, has had both knees replaced when he was 19/20 years old, so it’s not an unusual situation for him. And as a Man, he prefers not to go to the doctor’s to check it out, refuses to admit to advancing age, thinks he knows exactly what to do for himself. So for once, I just let him do all that. Because I had Shingles, dammit, and was really miserable, just waiting out time until it was gone. Of course, my husband’s knee got better for a day, during which time, he acted like nothing had ever happened to it……and then by the next day, it was swollen and painful……again. I know he expects his body to quickly snap back like it did in his youth. Finally, x-rays were taken, MRI done, doctors seen and followed by lots of physical therapy. So all the help I get from him w/holiday decor/buying gifts/planning food, etc etc etc…….was absent…..unless it was something his upper body could do.

So I’m decidedly tired. Have been just chilling out and reading as much as I can since the house become nicely de-construct-ed of holiday “Stuff”………it’s difficult for me to try and relax if I know I still have work to do so I like to get it out of the way. Probably too much Italian/Catholic Guilt instilled when young.

My beloved grandkids are off on holiday at Legoland with their parents. I requested pix and vids and I’ve had a lot and love each and every one of them. (Thanks, D) But it seems that just a little while ago, I was taking their Mom on vacations…..and now I’m watching it while she does it w/her little ones.

I’m ok with all of the above. And that makes me happy.

 

Log in to write a note
January 26, 2018

It’s good to be back on OD and reconnect with friends! I feel the same about the holidays and decorations. I’m 1 month shy of 70 and feel it’s time for the younger generation to take over the holidays. I buy a very few decorations, give them to a thrift store and then buy new ones each year. I don’t do well trying to find places to keep things I only use once a year.

January 29, 2018

You said “on holiday”, you Anglophile! Xoxox