That Time of Year Stress

Christmas always comes and goes very successfully….every year…….and yet…..I stress over it. I hear Christmas songs on the radio, in ads, etc……and they remind me to feel stressed.  It’s completely ridiculous that I feel this way. I have lists everywhere in the house…..and I know I will have bought just the right gifts, remembered all the people I want to, get the Christmas cards with photos made, addressed and mailed, get everything done in time, etc……..but I continue to worry that I won’t. And I’m always wrong. Always.

This year has been more complicated. My husband hurt his knee a few months ago. It would probably be so much better by now if he had gone to the doctor’s right away……but, being a man, he didn’t. Soon the knee became worse, the swelling became more, right along with the sighs, moans, groans about the pain. All this started the same old dance that we always do. He complains and I finally get enough of it and threaten imminent death if he doesn’t go see a doctor. One doctor became two doctors and, now, he’s finally in physical rehab and his knee is slowing getting better. He’s even been told to wean himself off the crutch he was told to use in the beginning.

I’ve had to pick up a lot of work that he usually does, do things for him so he doesn’t use the knee as much and generally do a lot more around the house. So I’ve been extra tired lately. Then along comes Christmas…….and I stress even more. I try to pretend that I’m calm and all is just fine…….but I still stress over it.  You’d think I would feel differently since I had gotten thru Thanksgiving and that turned out just great……

So I decided to add “Super Foods” to my diet……..for extra energy. I always have a protein shake/smoothie for breakfast because I know I need fuel in the morning but I don’t like eating. Now my morning shake is full of all kinds of Super Foods, like berries, flax seed, chia seeds, gogi berries and some other things that I don’t remember…..but in they go into the blender each morning. It’s only been about a week and a half, but I honestly feel better. It’s entirely possible that I’m feeling the Placebo Effect…….but I’m ok with that. Doesn’t matter to me if it’s from the so-called Super Foods or it’s in my head. As long as I’m feeling more energetic and not as tired, I’m fine with it either way.

Now I just need to wrap a gazillion gifts……and I really dislike wrapping presents. Maybe that’s why I get stressed.

Log in to write a note
December 15, 2017

Good for you doing what you can to keep your stress at bay. I hope your husband’s knee is back to normal very soon. Why is it some men do not want to go to the doctor? I know a few women that are this way too.

December 15, 2017

Ah, the battle to get a man to the doctor. My husband put off going to the doctor so long once that his chest infection became pneumonia!

i have similar feelings to you about eating in the morning – maybe smoothies are the compromise!

December 15, 2017

I don’t really enjoy gift wrapping, either, but, hey, we do our best, right? 🙂