Email to son-in-law

Reply:

Thanks so much for this.  I’ll check out your your Wish List online for inspiration.
Love the idea of you Gardening……you should at least try when you have the Idea. I did that once, at our last house…… I wanted that feeling of being connected somehow to Life, the World, Nature, etc. I found out I don’t like Gardening……and I can get that feeling of connection by just looking at my pretty yards.

A good friend of mine (art class) is constantly complaining about her various aches and pains. She’s a couple years younger than me. I always ask her “did you hurt yourself?” And I always get the very same answer, every time: “I probably gardened in my yard for over 3 hours yesterday.”

So I say “Quit doing that.”

She always says: “Can’t do that. I love it too much.”

So I figured you’re either a Gardener or you’re not. But you don’t know until you try. Just imagine the memories you’ll make while you Garden with 2 little annoying helpers. They’ll just make your work harder in all aspects but you’ll remember it well and, someday, not care about the extra work……in fact, you’ll wish you had spent more time doing just that.  You know this……..I know that you know it. But it’s our job as venerable elders to remind our young ones (to their great dismay) of these hard-won truths. As far as I’m concerned, you, dear son-in-law get an A in Fathering.  Both you and My Favorite Person (your wife) are doing a wonderful job…….and it makes me very, very happy since I’m so in love with those two kids. So thank you and her soooooo much for taking such good care, raising those beloved monsters.

And………. thank you again for Christmas gift ideas. If I know what you like, I’ll feel good about it and so will you. I’m already feeling good and no-stress about Christmas Eve, being at your house, instead of mine. I like how it’s become more casual but it still feels good, not worrying if everyone will have a good time, good things to eat, etc.

When your wife asked to have one of the holidays at your house, I told her that I would do Thanksgiving. I did that mostly because it’s All About The Food  that night……and the rest of us prefer eating my food than what she might Order In. Plus, it’s easy for me now……can do it blindfolded w/hands tied.

Sorry this is so long but you and I barely get to talk much anymore……for more than a sentence or two. Usually we’re surrounded by the other far-more-talkative relatives. xoxo

 

Log in to write a note
December 6, 2017

Love love love this! You sound like you are transitioning into a great mom-in-law following being a great mom!

December 7, 2017

Some very good points in here. “To garden, or not to garden, that is the question!! ” lol. I garden in pots on my balcony and winter, I have potted house plants. At my apartment complex, we can make a garden outside in a common “garden” area, but, I never do it, not sure why? Have a good day!!

*tx
December 14, 2017

No doubt he’ll enjoy this email from you. It was sweet sharing those moments with him.