My new-ish obsession.. the Beach Boys..

I was raised on this type of music, the early stuff before Brian broke into several pieces due to mental illness… My favorite was always Al Jardine… I looked him up on Wikipedia, and golly gee he is f-cking old. I guess all of the surviving members are… that’s sad. But dang it, that’s life right? But they live on as they were up there in my heart. (My other favorite was Carl. Brian was ok, so was Mike and Dennis…) but… and I looked up Kokomo their ‘new’ song also on Wikipedia, and 1987… holy crap!! That was their comeback album I reckon right?? I remember singing Kokomo (offkey lol) with my foster sister in the livingroom… sprawled out on the floor… 

Right now I’m listening to Wouldn’t It Be Nice over and over; on repeat. I love Help Me Rhonda too.. even though I think Rhonda and Rhoda are horrible names. LOL…

Ahhh.. memories… 

Today was a rather boring day, just my bath and not much else. We had a party for Bola, Pinky and G, as they all have birthdays in April…. Bola and G are Aries, and Pinky is on the cusp of Aries and Taurus. And besides Bola, Pinky is the most sane one… G is a typical headstrong Aries.

I gave Zilpah’s ‘bf’ 30 shades of holy hell bc he would not stop harrassing her. I don’t take sh-t from anyone.

Anyways, I am getting the same computer as my friend C. She has a Vivobook as well… I am going to get a bed pillow from Wayfair. Maybe they come in two, like a set?? I can’t wait. 3 months from now I’ll buy a Switch. I have my 3DS XL… you know what is funny? The eShop for the 3DS is no longer, but people are trying to resuscitate the Streetpass thing! They should get the eShop back! But I reckon whoever still owns one like myself, have jailbroken their systems, so… that is a moot point. 🤣 Both the eShop and the Streetpass thing… 

If you are wondering what I’m doing with the Vaio? Giving it to my big sister Julie. ❤️

I need to post something on GNJ and DW bc I think they think I’m dead over there… oops.

Sammy

Log in to write a note
April 4, 2023

When I was young, my favorite song by the beach boys was California Girls because it’s used in a James Bond movie.

April 5, 2023

@heffay Cool. I like California Girls too. I like what Brian sings about us northern girls ha. 😀

April 4, 2023

The only Beach Boys song that I love is Kokomo. I’m not really into their others songs except for that one

April 5, 2023

@ladiwan That song was in Cocktail with Tom Cruise. I remember chatting with Phaedra my bestie then, about the Beach Boys and Kokomo. 🙂

Jon
April 5, 2023

I was fortunate enough to see The Beach Boys in a free outdoor concert back in Boston many, many, many years ago. To see this band live was a special treat. I went with my best friend at the time. We would go to concerts together quite often. He was murdered in a case of mistaken identity when he was just 24. I have missed him ever since.

April 5, 2023

@kotila Oh gosh Jon. So sorry to hear that. 🙁 But you have good memories of him eh?

April 5, 2023

I have a very dear friend who is a lifelong Beach Boys super fan. When I was in middle school, I was forced to endure, like, a six hour bus ride for a field trip with ONE boom box that had ONE cassette tape. The Beach Boys Greatest Hits. For. Six. Hours. Nonstop. Since, no matter how he tries to make me love them, I just can’t. I can appreciate them, and their impact, but I’ll never be the super fan. That’s okay. I love seeing how others love the music! ❤️

April 5, 2023

@bohemianrhapsodeee Omg. LOL!!! That must have been excruciating non? Yeah. 🙂