You’re knock-kneed ~ and other revelations

Yes. When I was 12 years old and off at camp (Episcopal Church run; my grandmother had lost faith in God, but never in the Episcopal Church), one day a scholarship camper (trust me, one could tell, one of the reasons I have lost faith in the Episcopal Church while gaining a great deal of faith in God) decided she had an obligation to inform me of the fact that I was knock-kneed. Up until that very moment I had no idea what that was, nor that I was afflicted with the condition. It was the beginning of a long sequence of cruel revelations; most of them came from my family members. All on the brink of entering high school (the Episcopalian scene of the crime known as my adolescence). Oh well. Here’s a whitter.

Curriculum vitae

Of mist
she was made
ephemera
borne on the night wind
she longed
she flew
she rose with the sun
the rose-tinted sky
her field
briefly glimpsed
evaporated
she was lost to the clouds
no trace
nothing to imprint a memory
for there was nothing of her
so real as to require a record
she merely for a brief time
looked into a distorting glass
thought herself substantial
opaque and solid
but the image wavered soon enough
this is the record of a wisp
once seen as she drifted
meaninglessly
toward the clouds

~By a pond, (St.) Stephen’s Green, Dublin~

Log in to write a note
October 10, 2003

*eyes glitter with utter satisfaction* “my grandmother had lost faith in God, but never in the Episcopal Church” *amused at the satirish possiblities* Oh the nature of homosapiens… never surprizing, usually amusing …more often than not irrational. >_< *blink*

October 10, 2003

you are not knocked kneed for god’s sakes!!!! now had she said nutty…hmmm…i mite agree. *grins*

October 10, 2003

What’s wrong with being knock-kneed, I wonder 😉 I never listened to the “church kids;” you know they were the worst of them all! *laughs*

October 10, 2003

I suppose it is forgiven when children hurt each other, but for an adult to do it is not so easy. Seems it’s done by grown-ups who don’t really think children are people. I had much of that too. (I don’t care if you are knock-kneed…you are beautiful)

October 10, 2003

The Episcopal church here in town was the ONLY one who helped out our church when we were evicted because the building wasn’t safe (after a tornado.) and we needed a place to go; the Episcopal church offered us use of their sanctuary for worship, and asked us to join in with them during their coffee hour. I guess not all Episcopal churches are the same….and kids can be cruel, anyway.

October 10, 2003

ooh what a pretty pond *smiles*

October 10, 2003

RYN; I agree about your grandma–very sad indeed–and your other points are well-taken as well. (Also I’m glad you noticed Gemma wrote today–I’ve heard some people are having problems with their latest entries not showing up on peoples’ favorties pages.).

October 10, 2003

It never fails to amaze me how one small comment when we are young .. no matter how well intentioned .. can affect us for the rest of our lives.. It makes me realise how careful we should be with every single thing we say to our children. There are a few “untruths” that I still carry with me from my teenage years.. I doubt they can ever be undone no matter how false they have been proven to be.

Now I have to go look up what Knocked Kneed is… *S*

October 10, 2003

I’ll trade you for your knock knees any time!!!! Do you love how the Catholic Church has decided to educate the masses by saying that condoms do not work to fight sexually transmitted diseases!

October 10, 2003

Knock-kneed? Now that’s just not nice! ryn: Lol…thanks! 🙂

October 10, 2003

no words to say. xoxo,

i like your poem. i can just picture a wisp of a woman. wearing a feathery pink gown. floating up towards the heavens…towards the clouds. how sad though, that she was not of substance. that there will be no memory of her. ~ *hugs* to you for your pain. you are beautiful.

October 10, 2003

I think you are pretty terrific just the way you are!!! 🙂 Beautiful poem and picture… I love weeping willows! 🙂

October 10, 2003

what does “knock kneed” mean? i don’t recall hearing that expression before.. hmm. maybe i’ve got cheese in my ears? hugs,

October 11, 2003

I love these photographs, Cathy! And as always, your whittering is just gorgeous! Love and hugs,

*hugs*

October 11, 2003

Apparently the person who informed you of this fact was perfect in every way and therefore justified in making such observations. With a sigh…

October 13, 2003

Sigh, all I can say.