eharmony matched me with my brother.

Dear Diary;

I really wish that was a joke, but it’s not. With all it’s 29 dimensions of compatibility, it has more flaws than just the price of a subscription.  Telling you your sibling is a perfect match, for example.

*heavy sigh*

Whenever I talk or write about my frustrations with being single and my desire to have a relationship and eventually get married, the first thing people tend to say or write is along the lines of "It’ll happen for you when it’s meant to" or "There’s someone out there for you"  or "you’re young, you have lots of time for that, don’t worry".

What if the truth is- it’s not meant to happen for me. What if there isn’t someone out there for me? Every second of every day is another reminder that I’m getting older and running out of time. I’m 26 years old. It doesn’t seem like it’s that old at all- but it’s old enough to make me worry. What a disturbing thought that is- "what if it’s not meant to happen for me". If that’s the case and I’m doomed to live as a single woman for the rest of my life, I’m not sure I could handle it.1

I sat here the other day and I was looking at a picture of myself that I recently took. It occured to me that although I have my flaws (as does everyone else), I’m really not horrible to look at  and I deserve to be loved as much as everyone else around me. I honestly believe that I would make someone really happy, but so far, no one has given me the chance. 

Also, my ex told me today2 that he would have married me in a heartbeat had I not broken up with him3.


1This is not to say that I NEED to have someone in my life, because I am capable of living single,  but it’s definitely a desire of mine

2 after a lengthy discussion about how I don’t like that he continues to talk to me about sex and whatnot when he’s engaged to another woman.. which led to me asking if he talked to other girls like that when we were together- he denied

3 Clearly for good reason, as he was a douchebag.

Log in to write a note
October 12, 2009

oh, hun… i’m sorry. i hate eharmony. its a pain in the ass. have you tried Plentyoffish.com? its free. *shrugs* – noah

October 12, 2009

I swear I have been where you are… I didn’t meet my husband until I was 29. Honestly, there is time. Try to enjoy what you have now…I promise it WILL happen!

October 12, 2009

I KNOW where u r @. I didn’t meet Will till 27 and b4 him I was freaking out. I used match.com btw. I know it’s useless to say that it will happen one day when who knows if/when it will. But I can say that stressing over it doesn’t help. Try not to make your singledom the focus of your thoughts. Try to enjoy the other parts of your life. Does your brother have ne friends just like him?!

October 12, 2009

I guess I don’t need to tell you how creepy that eharmony match is. Re: front page: how exactly does a bra squeek?

October 12, 2009

Eugenics aside, your brother would be a high value target in identifying matches. High likelihood of common values and tastes. Of course, then you look past the calculus and you get to the squick. Ew. And the sex thing… is probably partly douchebag and partly because guys don’t have girltalk and exs are a potentially safe place to get a sanity check.

October 12, 2009

Ah, hahaha! I love your footnotes. Try a different dating site. I met my husband(!) online. 26 is mos def not too old to find what you want. I know that probably doesn’t make you feel any better, but that is the truth. Also, the fact that you looked at your pic and liked what you saw is a good sign–the sign of confidence–which is incredibly sexy, n’est-ce pas?

I hear you. My life didn’t exactly turn out as I thought it would (which is not to say I’m not happy with the way it turned out, it’s just different that what I thought my life would be like).