02/20/2013

lilypie kids birthday tickers

lilypie kids birthday tickers

lilypie fourth birthday tickers

 

 

 

I’m so tired right now.  this has been a busy ass week.  I had a pharm exam on Monday.  Made an 86.  Had a competencies exam yesterday.  That was a 94.I had a skills check off today.  That was okay.  I have another skills check off on Friday.  I don’t know what it will be though.  It could be inserting a catheter, putting in a NG tube, wound care, or giving injections.  The only thing we don’t do at this level is put in IV’s.  We learn that first thing next semester.  That should be cool.

I’m still super nervous when I take blood pressures.  They aren’t always that easy to get and I’m not sure that I’m getting them right all the time.  At the hospital we use the machine which is way less nerve wracking and probably quite a bit more accurate.  I have to turn in my 100 charted bp’s after spring break.  I should probably get to work on taking those. 

And I have to do a complete health history write up that is due the same day as the bp’s.  Might should get that written up too.

I have a paper to start working on that is with a partner.  I really hate group work.  I don’t want to be the one that screws the grade, so I think I might better start looking up my articles for support her pretty quick too.

And memorizing my drugs.  Yeah.  Need to do that here pretty quick.

Doll had a PTA program last week.  It was so damn cute.  She had the last speaking part of the night.  I was mighty proud.  Fuzzy was sitting beside me making faces at her during the whole program.  I guess I’ll have to pinch his nipple next time.  Little dorky boy.  Its a good thing he is cute enough to get away with his bullshit.

Does everybody else have to crud right now?  I have spent the last two weeks with snot pouring out of my head.  Its really really not attractive.  I finally discovered afrin so I could sleep at night.  I haven’t been taking it during the day because Evil was telling me how its so easy to get addicted to.  Oh goody, the only fucking thing that works for my nose and I have to be afraid of getting addicted.  Woo. 

Then I looked it up in my pharm book and you can’t jsut stop using it if you’ve used the spray for a while.  You’ll get rebound congestion which is like way worse congestion immediately after stopping use.  Weird shit.  Rebounds can happen after stopping other drugs way too quick to.  Oh hey, look, I learned something.

Okay, I’m heading home.  I’ve been at school way too long today.

 

Mandy

 

Ovarian cancer: It whispers, so listen.

 

Log in to write a note
February 20, 2013

My goodness, that’s a lot to get memorise and get through. I would have thought taking blood pressure would have been pretty simple, wrap the armband on, pump up the air, then check the dial for the result. But I guess it’s about pumping the right amount of air into the inflatable armband and if too much is pumped in, letting out just the right amount to get it right.

February 21, 2013

Oh goodness Im tired just reading this LOL **hugs** your so focused!!!

February 22, 2013

I hate group work! Hate, hate, hate it with a passion. I am going to hate it even more now that I am no longer with my class that we all knew each other & whatnot. Now I’ll be the stranger. UGH! I hated pharm (still do) but I always learned a lot of good, random things. When I go back, I will be doing OB & Peds..ugh! LOL Not two areas that I particularly enjoy.

February 22, 2013

Oh, did you have to do BPs and take them the “proper” way. Finding where the person’s BP “starts” and then add 30 to it so you’re not just doing the whole, pump it up to 180 or 200? (I don’t remember the technical term b/c I think it is crap and ain’t nobody got no time for that)

I can’t shake off this cold for the past 2 weeks. Red nose and phlegmy smelling breath. Good job the only people I kiss are my kids!