May 19, 2000 – January 30, 2014

I wrote a "Goodbye, Open Diary" entry over at Prosebox, but I felt like I owed one here, too. 

I love that these last few days OD is coming alive with powerful, poignant, farewell entries from diarists, some coming out of the woodwork who haven’t updated in years… to vent about the demise, how much Bruce sucks yet how much he changed all of our lives, to leave a forwarding address (Prosebox) or to say goodbye for good. 

Ironically, OD has been running a bit more smoothly these days for some reason, and I’ve not only been able to download my diary in several different formats, I’ve also been able to read and note more than I have in quite a long time. 

I just looked up my very first entry on Open Diary, written May 19, 2000.   "Before I tell you about my day today, let me introduce myself a little more. I’m 19 years old, I’m single…(sniff, sniff)…and I love to be with my friends, waterski, listen to music, write, be outdoors, work with kids, chat, dance, work on my web page…and last but not least, I love to just have fun! Hope that explains it well enough. "

Oh, how I’ve changed since then!  Married with two kids, and one more on the way…. 

Today will be my very last entry written in Open Diary.  January 30, 2014.  After this entry, I will be done here.  Done with the cursor flashing in this familiar white box that I told so many secrets to, that made me so many friends, that changed my life as much as it did for the others I met along the way.  I won’t be deleting my diary, however, as so many people are doing right now.  I guess something in me feels okay with leaving these words to float off into the wind, wherever they may go, wherever they end up.  I’m okay with that.  I’m not ashamed of anything I wrote here, I’m not paranoid of someone getting a hold of it.. it’s okay.

As for me, everything has been packed up and backed up safely.  I feel it’s time to remember the line that has been on my diary front page since the very beginning:

I’m learning how to let go of the past, and look ahead to the future… and that it’s okay to move on.   

Goodbye, Open Diary.  Thanks for the memories…..

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2014
January 30, 2014
January 30, 2014

one more on the way? congrats!!!

<3

one more on the way???? 🙂 Congratulations! yes…moving on is part of life. I hate this though, but it is what it is. Time to go…I doubt I will delete either. After all, really, who could be interested in what I’ve written and what harm could it do if they knew? I don’t know.

January 30, 2014

You are one of the most nostalgic people I’ve ever met!! Or maybe one of the most eloquent about it. I totally agree with your perspective. (1) Bruce sucks, but he changed our lives. And (2) It’s okay to move on. I think I’ll leave my OD to float as well. I’m just going to delete my private entries first. 🙂 I’m so glad I met you on here… yay for PB, or there’d be serious grief for sure.

January 30, 2014

one more on the way?! How did i miss that?! CONGRATS! I’ll find you on PB!

January 30, 2014

Yes, that last statement is so right. I am definitely not deleting my diary, that is almost sacrilege to me! In fact, I have another entry to post, and I might just well post it on OD too. While OD is up, I will continue to post in it. I’m gonna go down with the ship…and then swim over to the next one 😉 Besides maaaaaaaybe the site will be saved at the eleventh hour (I don’t actually believe this, but…still. If my diary goes, it will not be my BY hand.) OD has changed my life and I’m so glad I met you!

January 30, 2014

another baby?! you’re pregnant again?! congratulations! sorry i wont be at prosebox to read about it. i hope you have a girl!

January 30, 2014

one more on the way!!?! Congrats!!!

January 30, 2014

Congrats! See ya on Prosebox 🙂

January 30, 2014

You just slipped that baby news right in lol. Congratulations! Will you be on Prosebox?

You’re pregnant???? Congratulations!!!

January 30, 2014

“Married with two kids, and one more on the way…. ” Whoa you slipped that one in there! Congratulations!! I will continue to follow you on Prosebox, and of course your business page on Facebook.

January 30, 2014

Congratulations!!!

January 31, 2014

Congratulations from an occasional reader! 🙂

January 31, 2014

What?? How did I miss that you were expecting another? Congratulations!

February 1, 2014

Congratulations!!

February 1, 2014

I remember following you from the very beginning when I came here in 2001. I have missed reading. I hope to find you on prosebox!

February 1, 2014

OMG!!! Another baby! I am so happy for you! You make the most beautiful babies! idk if you have an instagram to share your beautiful pictures but if so please find me. My username is TiffanyRochelle86 I will miss you! Best wishes! –

February 2, 2014
February 5, 2014

I can’t delete either. I am protective about my world, my words… but I just can’t delete my OD. xxxx

February 6, 2014