Hello Again, Open Diary

Oh my goodness, have I missed this place! I was so excited to be invited to the testing phase and have spent the last day or so looking around and getting things figured out on my profile. It’s definitely… different. (For posterity I dug up the screenshot of my old diary) but it was so good to see all my old entries again.

I am not quite sure where to begin. I’ve spent the last four years writing over at Prosebox, so I’ve definitely kept up with writing (although not nearly as much as I did in the Open Diary days) and have kept many friendships since then, but I definitely think there are a few people I lost along the way, so hopefully we can reconnect here. I fully plan on continuing to write in Prosebox AND here, just cross posting. Because ultimately the life of my diary is still over here, yet the last four years have included so much of my kids lives that I can’t leave that either.

So for now, I’d love to see who is all over here and get to know you better and where we go from here.

From my last entry written in the orignal OD…. so glad I followed this and now happy that my words ended up back where they started:

January 30, 2014

“I won’t be deleting my diary, however, as so many people are doing right now. I guess something in me feels okay with leaving these words to float off into the wind, wherever they may go, wherever they end up. I’m okay with that. I’m not ashamed of anything I wrote here, I’m not paranoid of someone getting a hold of it.. it’s okay.

As for me, everything has been packed up and backed up safely. I feel it’s time to remember the line that has been on my diary front page since the very beginning:

I’m learning how to let go of the past, and look ahead to the future… and that it’s okay to move on.   

Goodbye, Open Diary.  Thanks for the memories…..”

Log in to write a note
October 10, 2017

Hello again! We know it is different, but we are also hoping that people will grow to love it just as much as they loved the old site.

October 10, 2017

Awesome! Will there be options to personalize our diaries down the road?

October 10, 2017

@missmeg we are working through whether to make that available, but I am leaning towards yes.

October 10, 2017

So happy you’re here… I’m finding my way around, too!

October 10, 2017

Now I’m so curious about Prosebox! I love that you have a screenshot of your old diary too! I wish I had one!

October 10, 2017

I had a ton of screenshots of everything I could take over the last week or so of the site. Sadly I think most of those images were lost when my old laptop crashed but somehow saved this one. You can also look up old screenshots on the Internet Wayback Machine too. https://web.archive.org/web/*/opendiary.com

October 11, 2017

Woot! So glad to see you! Looking forward to catching up with your last few years!

October 11, 2017

Ha…I am just about to post a screenshot of my OD front page too. Nice to be back, isn’t it? 🙂

October 11, 2017

Oooh I’ll have to find mine and post it 🙂  I like that we can host images here, although I wonder how many…(I have SO many PB entries that now have hundreds of broken links from travel entries, baby pictures, etc ever since photobucket pulled the plug on their hosting).

October 23, 2017

That’s a really excellent keepsake. It takes me way back, in a good way. Thanks for sharing.

November 20, 2017

Great entry. It reminds me that I said goodbye to Open Diary on Prosebox, because I had become such an infrequent user of OD that I missed any announcement that there may have been that it was going away. I also love that you have a screenshot of your old OD home page. I think I will now post my old “goodbye” here on the new OD!