NoJoMo 9

*insert banging of forehead on wall here*

It has just been one of those days.

I am currently helping out with the manning up of a project which has some very strict guidelines as to how applications need to be submitted. Basically all employees’ need to supply supervisor names and phone numbers for the past 5 years of employment. We then have to call and do reference checks on those last 5 years and then send the reference checks and paperwork to the client who then forwards it onto an external agency who checks the references and employment history. Once they have been through this process then they can continue with things like medicals etc.

When we recruit guys we send them this paperwork to fill out along with a document that states that they must supply the last 5 years of employment history as well as the full name and telephone numbers of supervisors for each place of employment.

How hard it that?

I understand if you do a lot of contract work that it may be hard to keep track, but seriously folks it is only 5 years.

Today I had one guy who sent me his paperwork with no supervisor names or phone numbers, not even his most recent. And then when I called him to discuss it and explain what I needed he hung up on me.

Some days there isn’t enough money in the world to make up for dealing with the idiots I face every day.

And the doctor wonders why I have high blood pressure LOL

We had a meeting last night at the prospective high school that master 12.5 is looking at attending. It looks really good. I like their philosophy on teaching, how it is all about adding depth and breadth to their learning experience rather than compressing 5 years into 3 just because they are gifted. They also have a lot of support there to help the kids decide what they want to do with their gifts and they work in close conjunction with one of the universities here. the kids get the opportunity to interact with people at the university on an academic level and work with them in conjunction with their school work.

I was also really impressed with the other activities they have these kids doing. It isn’t just about the academics. they have a strong music programme so master 12.5 will be able to continue his clarinet and the sports activities they offer are amazing and include things such as surfing and sailing, rowing as well as more conventions sports such as lacrosse, football, soccer and netball. Seriously there was a list of about 20 sports they could choose from.

They are also very flexible in their teaching and understand that these kids may have to do activities either before or after school and so will organise time table accordingly. They are also very high on pastoral care. Oh and languages, master 12.5 can continue with his Japanese and there is an opportunity for him to do an exchange programme as well. I think we are all pretty sold on the idea. I am so glad we went along for a listen.

Tonight we need to go buy a push along mower, it seems our grass we planted has decided it is very happy thank you and is growing very fast! Not complaining but I want to have it looking nice for the house warming this weekend. I am also going to attempt to clean the house a bit tonight. I was hoping to do some last night but by the time we got home we just fell into bed.

Anyway I had better ring another idiot or three and see if I can’t get their references sorted out.

Just another little piece of me…..

 

Log in to write a note
November 10, 2009

Hey! There’s some good news in here, especially the parts about the school, but I thought there were supposed to be pictures! Are you slacking?? *wink*

That school sounds wonderful. As for the idiots, there are always a few. lol

RYN: Ha ha, I looked them up too, and I didn’t want to say they looked so much cobbier and heavier than little Pudding! 🙂 It’s funny; out of, say, forty kittens Coco and I have looked after, eight of them have been white, and five of those were gray-capped. For the record: Binky, Pudding, Sophia, Little Rebecca, and Lars. (Lars looked like he had a little gray mullet, with even a coupleof spit-curls on his forehead by each ear. Presh!) Some faded, and some didn’t. I’m glad Pudding kept hers. It’s such a creamy, silvery-blue shade of gray. I thought it might turn out to be a tabby spot, but it never did–it’s just an elegant little gray hat atop her pert little head! *sighs happily with kitty-love*

November 10, 2009

yay for happy grass! 🙂

November 11, 2009

RYN: Thank you! You’re added. 🙂

Hehe! Laughing at RA’s note. Good luck. It’s busy but I bet it is nice to have a job.