NoMoJo 4

I arrived home last night to a lovely cool house, perhaps a little bit too cold to be honest. In his excitement of having cold air, Sal had all the aircons set at 16! It was nice when walking into the house from outside but soon got very chilly after that. We did have it set rather cool last night so that we could snuggle under the blankets though *grins*

 I recieved some exciting news yesterday but thought I should save it until today so I would have something to write about!

While Sal was home yesterday we recieved a letter saying that Master 12.5 had been offered a place at one of the gifted and talented schools as a result of his performance in the testing he did earlier in the year. He has been offered a place st Shenton College !!!  It was his second choice but we are still very thrilled as the standard of these tests is very high and only a select few get offered positions. For example Shenton College only offers 60 places a year.

Our first choice was Perth Mod so we have placed the Shenton College offer on hold to see if he gets offered a place at Perth Mod in the second or thrid round offers. My main push for this school is the government has invested a bucket load of money into it over the past couple of years so it has the best facilities, but on the down side it only takes gifted and talented kids, while Shenton College has a main stream school as well on campus. Peth Mod is very much in favour of accellerated learning and pushing the kids through, which also concerns me a bit. On the positive side though Perth Mod is closer to home and has a really good name.

I am concerend though that the pressure at Perth Mod would be very high and master 12.5 tends to dig his heels in and comes to a grinding halt if pressured too much, it is a part of his ADHD and something we are working on, he just doesn’t have the coping skills.

Anyway we have a bit of time before we have to make a final decision and I have a plan to take him down to the college to have a look and see what he thinks of the travel and the campus itself before we make a final decision. He may just decide to go to the local highschool and there are other scholarships and programs he can apply for that also interest him.

Anyway that’s all I have for today – I have a feeling we could be getting picture entries soon, but so far it is 4 for 4 entries!

Just another little piece of me…..

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2009

That’s fantastic news about 12.5! I feel like we’re in the year 2100 or something where everyone has a number instead of a name. lol But seriously, it’s great news. And air con…fab. I’m just about to walk the dog here with my big padded jacket on! 😉

Congratulations to the young Master! That’s quite an accomplishment. I hope y’all reach a settled decision soon. 🙂

wohooo .. what a fantastic opporunity for your boy!!!

Congrats to Master 12.5. You must be very proud of him.